The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 18, 2001, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I must be getting senile but I cannot find a rule reference or casebook play for the following play.

Play: A1 is dribbling parallel to a boundary line. A1 pushes the ball down to the floor and while he/she is not touching the ball steps out-of-bounds and then establishes him/herself completely inbounds before touching the ball again.

I know that this is an out-of-bounds violation. But here comes the but: Does the out-of-bounds violation occur when A1 steps out-of-bounds or when he/she touches the ball again?

I'm sans-rules book at the moment, but the violation occurs when A1 touches OOB. Try 9-OOB (it's a note / comment) -- that either has this directly, or says that it doesn't apply during an interrupted dribble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1