The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 31, 2005, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
I'm watching a video from a D-1 official and supervisor (probably assigns a D-2 league). He makes the assertion that a defender cannot have LGP if he is under the basket. The rule on guarding says: "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent.... (4-23-1)"

Assuming that the word path means the line from an offensive opponent's current location to his/her intended destination, then it makes sense that you cannot be in the path of an opponent driving to the basket if you are under the basket. Therefore you cannot have LGP (or have failed to maintain it) if you are under the basket hoping to take a charge.

What do you all think about this?

__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 31, 2005, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
I think a D1 official has no business smoking crack.

Let's ignore the LGP issue. Is the player entitled to a space on the floor? Did he attain the space legally? If so, it's a foul, without regard to LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 31, 2005, 02:09pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,764
Uhmmm...this one's gone round and round a bunch of times. It basically comes down to one thing: if this person is an NCAA Women's official and assignor, then they are giving you the correct interp. for NCAA Women's games...if they are not, then the interp. is not correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 31, 2005, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm watching a video from a D-1 official and supervisor (probably assigns a D-2 league). He makes the assertion that a defender cannot have LGP if he is under the basket. The rule on guarding says: "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent.... (4-23-1)"

Assuming that the word path means the line from an offensive opponent's current location to his/her intended destination, then it makes sense that you cannot be in the path of an opponent driving to the basket if you are under the basket. Therefore you cannot have LGP (or have failed to maintain it) if you are under the basket hoping to take a charge.

What do you all think about this?

For NFHS, he is wrong. See case 10.6.1 Situation D.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 31, 2005, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm watching a video from a D-1 official and supervisor (probably assigns a D-2 league). He makes the assertion that a defender cannot have LGP if he is under the basket. The rule on guarding says: "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent.... (4-23-1)"

Assuming that the word path means the line from an offensive opponent's current location to his/her intended destination, then it makes sense that you cannot be in the path of an opponent driving to the basket if you are under the basket. Therefore you cannot have LGP (or have failed to maintain it) if you are under the basket hoping to take a charge.

What do you all think about this?

For NFHS, he is wrong. See case 10.6.1 Situation D.

Z
Ahhh, very enlightening Thank you.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2005, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
This will be a non issue when they bring in the restricted area to NCAA next year along with extending the 3pt line. It's only 2 ft...half the size of the NBA. I wonder what the rule will be about where the play has to originate?? No lower defensive box.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2005, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by proref27
This will be a non issue when they bring in the restricted area to NCAA next year along with extending the 3pt line. It's only 2 ft...half the size of the NBA. I wonder what the rule will be about where the play has to originate?? No lower defensive box.
I get the feeling that you're pretty jazzed about NBA rules and mechanics
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2005, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
This was discussed by the D1 guys at the camp I attended last weekend. Their take on this was that a defensive player should not be able to draw a player control foul underneath the basket. The reasoning goes along with advantage/disadvantage in a way. If the defensive player is trying to stop the offensive player from scoring, how can they do this directly under the basket? The suggestion was to either call the block, or no call the play and tell the player to get out from under the basket if they want to draw the PC foul. I know this is not correct under NFHS rules, but it makes alot of sense I thought.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2005, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by proref27
This will be a non issue when they bring in the restricted area to NCAA next year along with extending the 3pt line. It's only 2 ft...half the size of the NBA. I wonder what the rule will be about where the play has to originate?? No lower defensive box.
I get the feeling that you're pretty jazzed about NBA rules and mechanics
I guess so. I can't help it

I heard the changes were a done deal pretty much. I think an RA makes it easier to call and a little more clear cut. If the secondary defender is in the RA, than all you have to do is point at the line and there is not much to argue.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,698
Being under the basket IS in the shooter's path...otherwise there would be no contact. The defense of it is forcing the shooter to take a slightly more difficult shot....stop for a short jumper instead of a layup/dunk. The shooter, being allow to run over the defender, has obtained an advantage.

So many people do not understand the NBA semi-circle anyway. It doesn't say you can't draw a charge inside the cirle. It says a help defender can't. The primary defender still can draw a charge. Also, it doesn't apply on drives from the corners. Under the basket is a great defensive position to defend a reverse layup.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Being under the basket IS in the shooter's path...otherwise there would be no contact. The defense of it is forcing the shooter to take a slightly more difficult shot....stop for a short jumper instead of a layup/dunk. The shooter, being allow to run over the defender, has obtained an advantage.

So many people do not understand the NBA semi-circle anyway. It doesn't say you can't draw a charge inside the cirle. It says a help defender can't. The primary defender still can draw a charge. Also, it doesn't apply on drives from the corners. Under the basket is a great defensive position to defend a reverse layup.
It has nothing to do with drives the corners, but it does not apply when a player drives behind the backboard

1. It applies to "secondary defenders" 2. The drive has to originate outside of the LDB (Lower Defensive Box)

An offensive player can still be charged with a offensive foul on a secondary defender in instances such as pushing off with the off arm etc..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,698
Quote:
Originally posted by proref27
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Being under the basket IS in the shooter's path...otherwise there would be no contact. The defense of it is forcing the shooter to take a slightly more difficult shot....stop for a short jumper instead of a layup/dunk. The shooter, being allow to run over the defender, has obtained an advantage.

So many people do not understand the NBA semi-circle anyway. It doesn't say you can't draw a charge inside the cirle. It says a help defender can't. The primary defender still can draw a charge. Also, it doesn't apply on drives from the corners. Under the basket is a great defensive position to defend a reverse layup.
It has nothing to do with drives the corners, but it does not apply when a player drives behind the backboard

1. It applies to "secondary defenders" 2. The drive has to originate outside of the LDB (Lower Defensive Box)

An offensive player can still be charged with a offensive foul on a secondary defender in instances such as pushing off with the off arm etc..
Uh, that's what I said. Drive from the corner implies driving baseline or behind backboard...all the same. Help defender = secondary defender. Since we're talking block/charge and LGP, push offs with an off are are not relevant to the discussion. Everyone knows that non-charge offensive types of fouls can be called anywhere on the court without regard to LGP.

For such a noob here, you're sure coming in here being pretty irritating.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Quote:
Originally posted by proref27
2. The drive has to originate outside of the LDB (Lower Defensive Box)
Could you describe the lower defensive box?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by proref27
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Being under the basket IS in the shooter's path...otherwise there would be no contact. The defense of it is forcing the shooter to take a slightly more difficult shot....stop for a short jumper instead of a layup/dunk. The shooter, being allow to run over the defender, has obtained an advantage.

So many people do not understand the NBA semi-circle anyway. It doesn't say you can't draw a charge inside the cirle. It says a help defender can't. The primary defender still can draw a charge. Also, it doesn't apply on drives from the corners. Under the basket is a great defensive position to defend a reverse layup.
It has nothing to do with drives the corners, but it does not apply when a player drives behind the backboard

1. It applies to "secondary defenders" 2. The drive has to originate outside of the LDB (Lower Defensive Box)

An offensive player can still be charged with a offensive foul on a secondary defender in instances such as pushing off with the off arm etc..
Uh, that's what I said. Drive from the corner implies driving baseline or behind backboard...all the same. Help defender = secondary defender. Since we're talking block/charge and LGP, push offs with an off are are not relevant to the discussion. Everyone knows that non-charge offensive types of fouls can be called anywhere on the court without regard to LGP.

For such a noob here, you're sure coming in here being pretty irritating.
Uhh, that's not exactly what you said. You said drives form the corners...I new what you meant I was just trying to make it clear for everyone. Others might might interpet drives from the corners literally. Also you made no mention of the LDB which is why I brought it up. I was basically agreeing with you because many people don't understand the RA.

Geez, don't get your panties in a bunch. I wasn't attacking you or anything.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Quote:
Originally posted by proref27
2. The drive has to originate outside of the LDB (Lower Defensive Box)
Could you describe the lower defensive box?
The LDB is the the small hash marks just under the bottom tip of the circle on each side of the lane. It's somewhat of an imaginary box inside the lane that starts at these hash marks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1