The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 26, 2005, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
I think Nichols explanation was that he gathered while the left foot was still on the floor. If that's not the basis for the call, I'm really not seeing any other coceivable basis. If the left foot was clear of the floor when the dribble stopped, I can't see any problem with the play, because he surely shot before the right foot returned to the floor.

One interesting thing to note is that Scott -- the defender who had been guarding Ray out near the sideline/three point line immediately assumed he had been called for the foul and ran over to the spot to say that it was on the floor. I did think Scott fouled him out there, and Scott has admitted as much. But the shot they showed on CBS today looks pretty clear that McCants didn't touch him once he got in the lane.

I hate to say it, but it really is hard to conclude anything other than that O'Neill anticipated contact in the lane.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1