| 
			
			 
			
				Fri Mar 25, 2005, 11:09am
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Jun 2000 Location: Portland, Oregon 
						Posts: 9,466
					 |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by blindzebra 
 
	The original post speaks of a TO request before the ball is at the disposal, this is not like team A has the ball and a 5 second count has begun. Under those conditions A1 can grab the ball and take it to either side to begin the throw-in.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. 
 
	Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by blindzebra 
 
	If they have a play set up tableside and T was opposite the table you are forcing an OOB pass to use their play.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. 
 
	Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by blindzebra 
 
	No, there is nothing to support MTD's claim.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by zebraman 
 
	Is this based on anything in a rule book or a mechanics book or is this just how it is done in your area?Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. If the T is opposite the Table when the timeout request was granted, the ensuing throw-in will be start at the free throw lane extended opposite the Table.
 
 If the T is Table-side when the timeout request was granted, the ensuing throw-in will be start at the free throw lane extended Table-side.
 
 MTD, Sr.
 |  
 Z
 |  
 7-5-7 says ANYWHERE along the endline. If the throwing team requests a side, there is no rule support to deny that request.
 |  The fact that a timeout has been granted does not mean that a switch or in the case of this play a rotation should occur.
 
 The procedure that I described in my initial post still allows the team making the throw-in to make its throw-in from anywhere along the baseline.  This procedure is applicable whether the officiating crew is a two-person or three-person crew.
 
 Watch the NCAA Tournament games this weekend and you will see that the procedure I described will be the one will be used.
 
 MTD, Sr.
 |  
 You still have not given a rule or manual citation to say the officials dictate the starting spot.
 
 Once again there is no rule support to deny a request for a starting spot by the throwing team.
 |  
 BZ:
 
 No matter whether the game is being played under NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, of FIBA, there are no circumstances where the team dictates where it wants the ball to be inbounded.
 
 Like I said watch the games this weekend.
 
 MTD, Sr.
 |  
 My feeling is the starting spot should be closest to where the ball was at the time of the request and if it is directly below the basket I'd give team A the option if asked, "Where is the throw-in spot?"
 
 Let's test your mechanic. Team A takes the ball OOB after the made basket and begins the throw-in opposite the new T, then a TO is requested. Your mechanic now changes the starting spot from the location of the ball when the TO was granted to the opposite side of the lane.
   
 I seriously doubt I see that done this weekend.
   |    
			
			
			
			
				  |