The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   My first correctable error??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/19250-my-first-correctable-error.html)

WyMike Tue Mar 22, 2005 04:30pm

CORRECTABLE ERRORS

Rule 2-10-2 ... In order to correct any of the official's errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball AFTER the clock has properly started.

DEAD BALL

The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

Rule 6-7-1 ... A goal, as in 5-1, is made.

Okay I understand the "first" dead ball issue here brought up by many of you. And I happened to discuss this sitch with one of my association officers this morning. (He called to confirm a rec game I was working tonight and is a long time official).

His interpretation is - the intent of the correctable error rule is to recognize the error during the first dead ball which has clock stoppage. He agreed the goal itself is a dead ball by rule, but with no clock stoppage. He felt I was overanalyzing and reading too much into the correctable error rule.

My impression was this is an accepted interpretation in our area and State.

mick Tue Mar 22, 2005 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
His interpretation is - the intent of the correctable error rule is to recognize the error during the first dead ball which has clock stoppage. He agreed the goal itself is a dead ball by rule, but with no clock stoppage. He felt I was overanalyzing and reading too much into the correctable error rule.

WyMike,
No big deal.
So, you both got it wrong.
We learn. ;)
mick

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 22, 2005 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
CORRECTABLE ERRORS

Rule 2-10-2 ... In order to correct any of the official's errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball AFTER the clock has properly started.

DEAD BALL

The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

Rule 6-7-1 ... A goal, as in 5-1, is made.

Okay I understand the "first" dead ball issue here brought up by many of you. And I happened to discuss this sitch with one of my association officers this morning. (He called to confirm a rec game I was working tonight and is a long time official).

<font color = red>His interpretation is - the intent of the correctable error rule is to recognize the error during the first dead ball which has clock stoppage</font>. He agreed the goal itself is a dead ball by rule, but with no clock stoppage. He felt I was overanalyzing and reading too much into the correctable error rule.

My impression was this is an accepted interpretation in our area and State.

Your association officer is wrong. The intent of the rule is to recognize the error during the first dead ball after the clock started. PERIOD. Clock stoppage has got absolutely nuthin' to do with that first dead ball.

Back In The Saddle Tue Mar 22, 2005 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
CORRECTABLE ERRORS

Rule 2-10-2 ... In order to correct any of the official's errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball AFTER the clock has properly started.

DEAD BALL

The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

Rule 6-7-1 ... A goal, as in 5-1, is made.

Okay I understand the "first" dead ball issue here brought up by many of you. And I happened to discuss this sitch with one of my association officers this morning. (He called to confirm a rec game I was working tonight and is a long time official).

<font color = red>His interpretation is - the intent of the correctable error rule is to recognize the error during the first dead ball which has clock stoppage</font>. He agreed the goal itself is a dead ball by rule, but with no clock stoppage. He felt I was overanalyzing and reading too much into the correctable error rule.

My impression was this is an accepted interpretation in our area and State.

Your association officer is wrong. The intent of the rule is to recognize the error during the first dead ball after the clock started. PERIOD. Clock stoppage has got absolutely nuthin' to do with that first dead ball.

In a really good game, you can have stretches of play that last several minutes without a dead ball other than made baskets. If the only-clock-stoppage dead balls were the intent, then how long is too long?

If we've played on for four minutes without a stoppage, then we're informed of a correctable error, is it too late? Sure feels like too late to me.

What if it's the last four minutes of regulation? What if the clock stoppage is due to the end of the fourth quarter, then the scorekeeper tells us (after her team loses by 1, of course) that there should have been a 1-and-1 at the 2:08 mark? Is that too late?

As much as it sucks to have to tell a coach that we, the officiating crew, messed up and cost them something, you absolutely have to close the window of opportunity for correcting an error at a well defined time (to prevent unsettleable arguments) and the window has to be fairly short. If the window of opportunity is too long, it begins to affect the integrity of the game.

WyMike Tue Mar 22, 2005 06:50pm

Just to clarify for myself on the goal being the first dead ball in the sitch I originally described, Rule 2-11-5 goes on to say "...Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified."

So in my oroginal post, when Red is fouled and is not awarded his merited FT's but is instead awarded a throw-in. Then Red scores 2 pts during that possession. Between the time the ball passes through the goal (first dead ball) and before Blue takes possession to inbound the ball, if I recognize the error I would award Red their tosses - PLUS - they keep the 2 points they scored?

So they could have a 4 point swing due to book error?

Then it would also be correct to state if there are two successful try attempts between the error and the time it is recognized, it is too late to correct the error and play resumes. Do I have it down now? :D

mick Tue Mar 22, 2005 07:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
Just to clarify for myself on the goal being the first dead ball in the sitch I originally described, Rule 2-11-5 goes on to say "...Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified."

So in my oroginal post, when Red is fouled and is not awarded his merited FT's but is instead awarded a throw-in. Then Red scores 2 pts during that possession. Between the time the ball passes through the goal (first dead ball) and before Blue takes possession to inbound the ball, if I recognize the error I would award Red their tosses - PLUS - they keep the 2 points they scored?

So they could have a 4 point swing due to book error?


Yes. <s>Also, while blue is dribbling up the court, you may stop play if the scorekeeper tells you to shoot the bonus. As long as recognition occurs before the second dead ball.</s> - <I>Garbage edited by mick</I>

Yes, that is a 4-point swing. The officials (including table officials) made a mistake and now it's time to pay the piper.

Then it would also be correct to state if there are two successful try attempts between the error and the time it is recognized, it is too late to correct the error and play resumes. Do I have it down now? :D
It seems you have it. Now go sell your "interpreter" or go buy another. :cool:
mick

[Edited by mick on Mar 23rd, 2005 at 08:25 AM]

Nevadaref Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick


Yes. Also, while blue is dribbling up the court, you may stop play if the scorekeeper tells you to shoot the bonus. As long as recognition occurs before the second dead ball.


Sorry Mick, but you are not being precise. It is too late to correct the error at that time.

The error must be recognized before the second LIVE ball in order to fix it. The book says "during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." Once that dead ball becomes live again, (In this particular case, when the ball is at Blue's disposal for the throw-in after Red's goal) it is too late.

WyMike, It sounds to me like you now understand the process correctly.

mick Wed Mar 23, 2005 07:48am

Yer right Nevada.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by mick


Yes. Also, while blue is dribbling up the court, you may stop play if the scorekeeper tells you to shoot the bonus. As long as recognition occurs before the second dead ball.


Sorry Mick, but you are not being precise. It is too late to correct the error at that time.

The error must be recognized before the second LIVE ball in order to fix it. The book says "during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." Once that dead ball becomes live again, (In this particular case, when the ball is at Blue's disposal for the throw-in after Red's goal) it is too late.

WyMike, It sounds to me like you now understand the process correctly.

Thanks, Nevada.
Yes it would appear I confused the phrases <LI>During 1st dead ball<LI>Before 2nd dead ball<li>Before 2nd live ball.
I'll do better next time.
Thanks again. :cool:
mick

Nevadaref Wed Mar 23, 2005 08:19am

Re: Yer right Nevada.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

Thanks, Nevada.
Yes it would appear I confused the phrases <LI>During 1st dead ball<LI>Before 2nd dead ball<li>Before 2nd live ball.
I'll do better next time.
Thanks again. :cool:
mick

No worrys. It just surprised me, since you usually do better than I do. :)

mick Wed Mar 23, 2005 08:40am

Re: Re: Yer right Nevada.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

Thanks, Nevada.
Yes it would appear I confused the phrases <LI>During 1st dead ball<LI>Before 2nd dead ball<li>Before 2nd live ball.
I'll do better next time.
Thanks again. :cool:
mick

No worrys. It just surprised me, since you usually do better than I do. :)

Nevada,
That correctable error window is very small, indeed!
It would seem that once the ball is in the hands of the in-thrower [Live ball], then that to is too late.
Yuck! Doesn't feel good. http://www.deephousepage.com/smilies/puke.gif

I think I must continue to avoid those situations. :)
mick

Nevadaref Wed Mar 23, 2005 08:45am

Ah, yes, the advice that the best way to avoid problems with correctable errors, which was given to me in my very first year of officiating before I ever stepped onto the court,

DON'T ALLOW THEM TO HAPPEN IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!!!!!! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1