![]() |
NFHS rules only.
A1 brings down a rebound and is surrounded by B1, B2 & B3. A1 swings his elbow excessively and strikes B1 knocking him to the ground. Your call? |
Quote:
Depends... Could be a "T" or a Player Control |
It depends, Was it an intentional act or was he just trying to not get tied up.
It could be a PC foul A flagarant foul A no call I would have to see the play to say for certain. Just my opinion |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The contact is a live ball foul, therefore it is a personal foul. The personal foul is either a common foul (player control), intentional, or flagrant. MTD, Sr. |
I've got intentional. He was swinging his elbows excessively, therefore to me that means that any contact will result in an intentional, because there is no reason for him to be swinging his arms like that.
|
Quote:
wl |
Once a player starts swinging, I'm pretty quick on the whistle on the violation so we can avoid contact.
|
Sounds like PC to me, maybe intentional or flagrant. Since there was contact, there can be no T, but in the absence of contact you could have a violation, a T or a no call (although you said excessively swinging, so something most likely has to be called).
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
ART. 13 . . . An unsporting foul is a noncontact technical foul which consists of unfair, unethical or dishonorable conduct. This is the only call that can be made for swinging and missing with a punch or an elbow that was meant to strike in the same manner. The key is that there was no contact on the play, so a personal foul cannot be called. Seems odd that the penalty is more severe for swinging and missing than for actually hitting the opponent during a live ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11pm. |