![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
Questions on the latest changes of FIBA Officials Basketball Rules 2000, adopted on 4th and 5th of May 2000
Situation: A4 attempts for a field goal, while the ball is in the air the 24-seconds shot clock sounded.(Of course, if the ball enters the basket, it counts) The ball hits the ring and the ball was rebounded by: A. By the Offensive (Team A) B. By the Defensive (Team B) Question: 1. Is it already a violation when the offensive (Team A) field goal attempt was unsuccessful(the ball only hits the ring)? 2. Shall the game continue, regardless who got the ball? 3. Is there any other administraton/rules to apply for this situation? We will be very thankful for those who can help us enlighten on this latest rules changes of FIBA. Thanks, Basketball Officials Group(BOG) Jeddah, Saudi Arabia |
|
|||
FIBA Question
Under the current FIBA rules if a ball is in the air on a shot attempt when the 24 second horn sounds Team A has committed a viloation UNLESS the ball enters the basket. Even if the ball strikes the ring it is still a violation. Therefore in FIBA rules the officials must sound their whistles anytime the 24 second buzzer sounds and then wait to see if the ball goes in or not.
|
|
|||
Bart Tyson...sorry buddy,stop guessing
Ref0909 has it right, however there is more. On all shots the shot clock resets when the ball strikes the ring. If the shot clock sounds BEFORE the ball has struck the ring the official must blow the whistle. If the ball goes in the defensive team get ball on baseline.(allowed to run) If the ball doesn't go in.(even if it hits the ring). The official should award the defensive team the ball on the baseline.(designated spot) something else If the shot-clock sounds in error without a team in control of the ball, a jump ball should be called. Play... A1 takes a shot with 3 seconds left on the shot-clock, the ball strikes the ring and bounces away from the ring. The shot-clock doesn't reset (opperator error). The shot-clock horn then goes off, with the rebound not controled by either team. ruling...Jump ball I work modified FIBA in British Columbia, Canada. This interpretation comes from Fred Horgan, Canada's National Interpretor and member of the FIBA Technical Commission. keep smiling SH [Edited by hoopsrefBC on Mar 3rd, 2001 at 01:05 PM] |
|
|||
bogref_jed...
ref0909 and hoopsrefbc are exactly right with their information except for the throw in spot following a shot clock violation...it is nearest the area where the shot was taken, not necessarily on the end line. the best place to gather the info you are looking for is http://www.fiba.com in the Rules & Regulations download section. On page 11 of the Intrepretation of the Rules document, you will find every possible shot clock scenario and its appropriate interpretation. Hope this helps. Jeff |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|