The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2005, 10:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Palmyra, VA
Posts: 245
Send a message via AIM to drothamel
If the defender obtained legal guarding position, then it is either a player control foul, or a travel, if you judge the contact to be incidental. A player in posession of the ball is entitled to neither time, nor distance, and must expect to be guarded.

Now, if A1 jumped to make the catch, then B1 must have obtained her legal guarding position prior to A1 leaving the floor. She can't wait until the girl is in the air and then show up underneath her. Same principle as a player taking a shot.

The play that you describe is covered in the case book somewhere, but I don't have it with me.
__________________
-RESPECT THE GAME-
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1