![]() |
Is there any such ruling on a self pass? The shooter attempts a shot and follow it and the ball never hit anything, he retrieved his own shot and made the basket. Is there any violation?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As is occasionally the case, this is an NBA rule that fans think is universal.
|
In the NBA, the play described is traveling.
10-XIV-i A player who attempts a field goal may not be the first to touch the ball if it fails to touch the backboard, basket ring or another player. "Self-pass" is a schoolyard call. |
Thanks, found it!
|
Self-pass is one of those blithering obfuscations.
Quote:
But, as happened tonight, a player dribbling the ball, picks up the dribble, THEN loses the ball and recovers it, double dribble. The crowd tonight didn't think so, but I saw what I saw . . . |
Quote:
The crowd tonight didn't think so, but I saw what I saw . . . [/B][/QUOTE]<b>Losing</b> the ball is legal if it's a fumble. You can recover it, but you can't dribble. |
Quote:
Not, in my view, if you control it first. The losing it was the result of trying to do something with it. Just because it didn't work out, you don't get a do-over. |
Unfortunately, your personal view doesn't matter. The rules matter. JR is right. A player can always go grab the ball after a fumble. Take a close look at the following:
Rule 4 SECTION 21 FUMBLE A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp. Rule 4 Section 15 Article 4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. |
Quote:
While dribbling,A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. <b>RULING:</b> The dribble ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble had ended..., A1 may recover the ball. |
In this case I thought she was
Quote:
|
Remember, you can FUMBLE-DRIBBLE-FUMBLE, but you cannot DRIBBLE-FUMBLE-DRIBBLE!
The play described by assignmentmaker is legal. If you have used your dribble and you FUMBLE, you can recover it, absolutely! |
Re: In this case I thought she was
Quote:
|
Holy cow. You mean I got it right tonight? They yelled their head off at me. I didn't think it was a travel. Holy cow. Learn something new every day. :)
|
Quote:
|
What if A1 throws a pass to his teammate, but the teammate wasn't expecting it, so A1 runs after the loose ball and is the first to touch it. There's nothing forbidding this right?
Also, would that count as a dribble? (So it would be a violation if A1 had ended his dribble already) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12pm. |