The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Continuous motion (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18831-continuous-motion.html)

Paul LeBoutillier Mon Feb 28, 2005 02:06pm

Guys, sorry if this was asked and answered recently, but I have a question on Continuous Motion.

The rule book says that CM ends when the ball is clearly in flight. (4-11-1) But I was under the impression that when a player goes up for a layup, and on the way back down to the floor creams another player, it is a player control foul BECAUSE of the rules governing continuous motion.

Did I mess up?

Camron Rust Mon Feb 28, 2005 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Paul LeBoutillier
Guys, sorry if this was asked and answered recently, but I have a question on Continuous Motion.

The rule book says that CM ends when the ball is clearly in flight. (4-11-1) But I was under the impression that when a player goes up for a layup, and on the way back down to the floor creams another player, it is a player control foul BECAUSE of the rules governing continuous motion.

Did I mess up?

It is still a PC foul but not because of continuous motion. It is the airborne shooter rule.

ref18 Mon Feb 28, 2005 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Paul LeBoutillier
Guys, sorry if this was asked and answered recently, but I have a question on Continuous Motion.

The rule book says that CM ends when the ball is clearly in flight. (4-11-1) But I was under the impression that when a player goes up for a layup, and on the way back down to the floor creams another player, it is a player control foul BECAUSE of the rules governing continuous motion.

Did I mess up?

It is still a PC foul but not because of continuous motion. It is the airborne shooter rule.

Of course this assumes you are using NFHS rules.

Paul LeBoutillier Mon Feb 28, 2005 02:22pm

Thanks Cameron. I think I got the call right, but in my mind I was applying the wrong rule.

A1 went up for a jump shot behind the 3 point arc, and after releasing the ball B1 (who was rushing over to block the shot) got under the shooter so that A1 came down on top of B1 and fell to the floor.

I called a foul on B1 and awarded A1 3 FTs. In my mind I was applying Continuous Motion, but instead I should have been applying the rules governing an airborne shooter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1