The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   We had the dreaded "BLARGE"!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18808-we-had-dreaded-blarge.html)

OFISHE8 Sun Feb 27, 2005 03:42pm

Last night in a regional final, we had a block/charge. We had a three man crew, two of which had worked all year together and one was from another part of the state. We all got together after the call and discussed what we were going to do. We had discussed in pre game what was to happen: double foul, go to possesion arrow. We got together, talked about it and went with the double foul, bucket counts, and go to possesion arrow. We told both coaches what we had and what the rule was. They were fine with the decision. I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic. I was at fault because in pre game we talked about coverage areas and who follow who on a drive to the bucket. I was Lead table side and felt Center had not gotten back down court quick enough to cover the play--it was semi-fastbreak. Live and learn I guess. We never decided what it actually was, though?

tjones1 Sun Feb 27, 2005 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic.
And me too! :D Nasty call, but by rule you got it right. Just like MTD, I don't agree with the case book. But you've nailed it: Live and learn!

[Edited by tjones1 on Feb 27th, 2005 at 04:54 PM]

RollTide Sun Feb 27, 2005 04:01pm

The threads by MTD you refer must've been written before I became aware of this forum.

However, from the original post here, can you please enlighten me as to how a blarge could possibly be considered as a double foul.

Thanks

OFISHE8 Sun Feb 27, 2005 04:12pm

THe rule is 5.3C in the case book I believe. It is written as a scapegoat for this officiating blunder. Instead of deciding on who is correct, this moves the blame to both instead of one.

RollTide Sun Feb 27, 2005 04:31pm

4.19.7 Situation C: in the Case book

geeeeeeesh

I've NEVER seen this ruling used on the floor. One of the officials has always relinquished the play to a partner and taken the heat for doing so (from the coach that is losing the call), lol.

Now, I'm assuming MTD's previous posts on this topic might contain something similar to this ruling being a direct contradiction of the rule had there not been a blarge called?

I mean, how can this basket be good, when, if one official would not have called a blocking foul, the basket would not have counted???

Wish I would've been here when the previous threads on this topic were discussed

OFISHE8 Sun Feb 27, 2005 06:03pm

Goal is awarded because the double foul call is not a player control, thus the bucket counts.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 27, 2005 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RollTide
The threads by MTD you refer must've been written before I became aware of this forum.

However, from the original post here, can you please enlighten me as to how a blarge could possibly be considered as a double foul.

Thanks

Neither official has the priority over the other...if both have signaled, you can't take either one back since they're just differing judgements on the same act. Since they are fouls by two opponents against each other at the same time, it becomes a double foul. Since it is no longer a PC foul, the bucket can count if it goes. No FTs. Go the arrow.

assignmentmaker Sun Feb 27, 2005 06:40pm

Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Last night in a regional final, we had a block/charge. We had a three man crew, two of which had worked all year together and one was from another part of the state. We all got together after the call and discussed what we were going to do. We had discussed in pre game what was to happen: double foul, go to possesion arrow. We got together, talked about it and went with the double foul, bucket counts, and go to possesion arrow. We told both coaches what we had and what the rule was. They were fine with the decision. I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic. I was at fault because in pre game we talked about coverage areas and who follow who on a drive to the bucket. I was Lead table side and felt Center had not gotten back down court quick enough to cover the play--it was semi-fastbreak. Live and learn I guess. We never decided what it actually was, though?
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Camron Rust Sun Feb 27, 2005 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RollTide
4.19.7 Situation C: in the Case book

geeeeeeesh

I've NEVER seen this ruling used on the floor. One of the officials has always relinquished the play to a partner and taken the heat for doing so (from the coach that is losing the call), lol.

Now, I'm assuming MTD's previous posts on this topic might contain something similar to this ruling being a direct contradiction of the rule had there not been a blarge called?

MTD's previous point is that the act it self can not both be a charge and a block. One of the officials is actually wrong. The case play is the way to resolve this occassional conflict.

Quote:

Originally posted by RollTide

I mean, how can this basket be good, when, if one official would not have called a blocking foul, the basket would not have counted???

If the one who called PC hadn't called a foul, the bucket would count and the shooter would go to the line. Either direction and someone gets the short end of the stick.

The double is a reasonable comprimise.

Snake~eyes Sun Feb 27, 2005 09:02pm

That's tough but I you did the right thing by going by the book.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 27, 2005 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by RollTide
4.19.7 Situation C: in the Case book

geeeeeeesh

I've NEVER seen this ruling used on the floor. One of the officials has always relinquished the play to a partner and taken the heat for doing so (from the coach that is losing the call), lol.

Now, I'm assuming MTD's previous posts on this topic might contain something similar to this ruling being a direct contradiction of the rule had there not been a blarge called?

MTD's previous point is that the act it self can not both be a charge and a block. One of the officials is actually wrong. The case play is the way to resolve this occassional conflict.

Quote:

Originally posted by RollTide

I mean, how can this basket be good, when, if one official would not have called a blocking foul, the basket would not have counted???

If the one who called PC hadn't called a foul, the bucket would count and the shooter would go to the line. Either direction and someone gets the short end of the stick.

The double is a reasonable comprimise.


To everybody reading this thread:

Camron has done a very good job of explaining my position on blarges. And RollTide is correct in stating my position that if a defender either has a legal guarding position or he doesn't have a legal guarding position.

My complaint about NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.7, Sit. C really is based not upon the definition of a double personal foul, but upon NFHS R2-S6 (Officials' Authority), which states that: "No official has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by the other official(s) within the limits of their respective outlined duties."

Blarges can be eliminated with the following: 1) Have a good pregame; 2) Officiate your primary; and 3) Trust your partner(s).

MTD, Sr.

QuebecRef87 Sun Feb 27, 2005 09:57pm

Re: Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Who cares...

Rich Sun Feb 27, 2005 10:35pm

Re: Re: Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by QuebecRef87
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Who cares...

Or is it "whom" cares? :D

Adam Sun Feb 27, 2005 10:54pm

Re: Re: Re: Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by QuebecRef87
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Who cares...

Or is it "whom" cares? :D

Now that's just ugly grammar. :D

ChuckElias Sun Feb 27, 2005 11:27pm

Re: Re: Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by QuebecRef87
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Who cares...

Mr. Grammar Guy cares, wherever he may be . . . :)

bigzilla Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:56am

MTD-But doesn't the "Official's Authority" rule require that a blarge be handled as in Situation C? If L comes out with a block, and C comes out with a charge, neither can set aside the other, nor question the other, so both fouls have to be honored, which would require a double foul. Or are you saying that their "respective outlined duties" would include their primary, so the call of the official in whose primary it occured should be the call that is followed?

Daryl H. Long Mon Feb 28, 2005 02:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by bigzilla
MTD-But doesn't the "Official's Authority" rule require that a blarge be handled as in Situation C? If L comes out with a block, and C comes out with a charge, neither can set aside the other, nor question the other, so both fouls have to be honored, which would require a double foul. Or are you saying that their "respective outlined duties" would include their primary, so the call of the official in whose primary it occured should be the call that is followed?
Your first sentence is the mindset of the NFHS Rules committee and the officials who started this string did the proper procedure as written.

The problem with the ruling is that it assumes such a thing as a blarge can exist, but also ignores some basic definitions and suggested mechanics.

Yes, the official who is primary should be the one to take the call. But somewhere, sometime in the past, 2 referees made opposite calls on the same play and neither would admit he was the one who made a mistake. So, to be politically correct the NFHS has ruled both were right and ignored the "player control" defintion and it's ramifications as to scoring in making a ruling on the play.

They also ignored the fact that by definition a blarge cannot exist because one action cannot simultaneously be two diametrically opposed acts.

It is like the old question. What happens if an irresistible force encounters an immoveable body? The answer is they cannot exist in the same realm or plane or dimension. By definition if an irresistible force exists then it will move anything. If there was a body that could stop the force then it would no longer be irresisible.

Apply the same argument to the definitions of blocking and Player control foul and how to determine based on legal guarding position. If legal guarding position is attained then blocking cannot occur. If no legal guarding position then Player control cannot occur. A blarge assumes that the defense both established and did not establish legal guarding position at the same time.

Besides, considering the "Officials Authority Rule" you mention, NF football rules give the Referee the duty to rule on issues in which 2 officials disagree. Why they cannot extend the same rule to Basketball is beyond my imagination.

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 28, 2005 06:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
[/B]
1) The problem with the ruling is that it assumes such a thing as a blarge can exist, but also ignores some basic definitions and suggested mechanics.

2) They also ignored the fact that by definition a blarge cannot exist because one action cannot simultaneously be two diametrically opposed acts.

[/B][/QUOTE]Well, that makes sense. In #1, you say a blarge exists. In #2, you say a blarge can't exist. No wonder I walk around in a state of confusion. :D

The NFHS could care less if "one action cannot simultaneously be two diametrically opposed acts". They just want to make sure we have a procedure to follow if two officials make diametrically opposite calls and neither wants to change those calls. In the real world, that happens. Saw it with my own eyes in an NCAA game the other day.

Unfortunately, in the real world- the world which includes the rules and the game being played under those rules- blarges do exist. These little semantic exercises just serve to confuse people imo. The bottom line is.....sh*t happens....and the FED gave us direction on how to deal with the sh*t if and when it does happen.

Yup, in a perfect world, there live no dreaded blarges and we all skip along hand-in-hand merrily wending our way through fields of clover. In the real world, you look up from giving a block signal to see your partner with his hand behind his head.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 28th, 2005 at 06:59 AM]

mikesears Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:58am

The dreaded blarge has even made it to the NCAA tourney. In a game several years ago, one official signaled player control, the other signaled a block. I don't know the NCAA rule on this, but at the time, it was handled exactly like how the NF wants it handled.




Dan_ref Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
The dreaded blarge has even made it to the NCAA tourney. In a game several years ago, one official signaled player control, the other signaled a block. I don't know the NCAA rule on this, but at the time, it was handled exactly like how the NF wants it handled.




Under the men's rules both players get charged a foul.

I believe under the woman's rules the officials must decide which of the 2 fouls will be charged, the other is ignored.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 28, 2005 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long

Apply the same argument to the definitions of blocking and Player control foul and how to determine based on legal guarding position. If legal guarding position is attained then blocking cannot occur. If no legal guarding position then <FONT COLOR=RED>Player control</FONT> cannot occur. A blarge assumes that the defense both established and did not establish legal guarding position at the same time.

While I agree with the gist of your post, it's not entirely accurate...

Lack of LGP does not preclude PC fouls.

Stationary B1, facing basket. A1 dribbles down lane, crashes in to B1. No LGP but can still be a PC foul.

B1 actively guarding A1 but, for what ever reason, does not have LGP. A1 straight-arms B1 in the face. No LGP but still a PC foul.

assignmentmaker Mon Feb 28, 2005 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long

Apply the same argument to the definitions of blocking and Player control foul and how to determine based on legal guarding position. If legal guarding position is attained then blocking cannot occur. If no legal guarding position then <FONT COLOR=RED>Player control</FONT> cannot occur. A blarge assumes that the defense both established and did not establish legal guarding position at the same time.

While I agree with the gist of your post, it's not entirely accurate...

Lack of LGP does not preclude PC fouls.

Stationary B1, facing basket. A1 dribbles down lane, crashes in to B1. No LGP but can still be a PC foul.

B1 actively guarding A1 but, for what ever reason, does not have LGP. A1 straight-arms B1 in the face. No LGP but still a PC foul.

"Stationary B1, facing basket. A1 dribbles down lane, crashes in to B1. No LGP but can still be a PC foul."

This is a particularly well made point. This happens frequently, and officials aren't prepared to deal with it.


assignmentmaker Mon Feb 28, 2005 03:56pm

Re: Re: Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by QuebecRef87
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Who cares...


Brave, but foolhardy. Signals are a big component of comprehensibility. Strip them out and the noise in the channel goes up. Eventually (if not already) you can't think.

gordon30307 Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Last night in a regional final, we had a block/charge. We had a three man crew, two of which had worked all year together and one was from another part of the state. We all got together after the call and discussed what we were going to do. We had discussed in pre game what was to happen: double foul, go to possesion arrow. We got together, talked about it and went with the double foul, bucket counts, and go to possesion arrow. We told both coaches what we had and what the rule was. They were fine with the decision. I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic. I was at fault because in pre game we talked about coverage areas and who follow who on a drive to the bucket. I was Lead table side and felt Center had not gotten back down court quick enough to cover the play--it was semi-fastbreak. Live and learn I guess. We never decided what it actually was, though?
I don't understand how you can have a block and a charge on the same play with the result being a double foul being called. Whether I'm doing two man or three man during the pregame we agree to yield to whoever is primary, however if it's my primary and we have different calls if my partner comes in strong I'll yield to my partner and let him/her live and die with the call. To me whoever was primary should have taken that call. In this case a double foul just looks bad.

NoCall Mon Feb 28, 2005 06:10pm

Is this your first "Blarge"? Being in a regional final it would appear that you woulddn't be calling in someone else's area. Do you do this often? You must stay focused.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 28, 2005 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Last night in a regional final, we had a block/charge. We had a three man crew, two of which had worked all year together and one was from another part of the state. We all got together after the call and discussed what we were going to do. We had discussed in pre game what was to happen: double foul, go to possesion arrow. We got together, talked about it and went with the double foul, bucket counts, and go to possesion arrow. We told both coaches what we had and what the rule was. They were fine with the decision. I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic. I was at fault because in pre game we talked about coverage areas and who follow who on a drive to the bucket. I was Lead table side and felt Center had not gotten back down court quick enough to cover the play--it was semi-fastbreak. Live and learn I guess. We never decided what it actually was, though?
I don't understand how you can have a block and a charge on the same play with the result being a double foul being called. Whether I'm doing two man or three man during the pregame we agree to yield to whoever is primary, however if it's my primary and we have different calls if my partner comes in strong I'll yield to my partner and let him/her live and die with the call. To me whoever was primary should have taken that call. In this case a double foul just looks bad.



Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition!! A convert has joined the fray.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 28, 2005 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long

Apply the same argument to the definitions of blocking and Player control foul and how to determine based on legal guarding position. If legal guarding position is attained then blocking cannot occur. If no legal guarding position then <FONT COLOR=RED>Player control</FONT> cannot occur. A blarge assumes that the defense both established and did not establish legal guarding position at the same time.

While I agree with the gist of your post, it's not entirely accurate...

Lack of LGP does not preclude PC fouls.

Stationary B1, facing basket. A1 dribbles down lane, crashes in to B1. No LGP but can still be a PC foul.

B1 actively guarding A1 but, for what ever reason, does not have LGP. A1 straight-arms B1 in the face. No LGP but still a PC foul.



Daryl:

Shame on you. You should know better because I have babbled on about that play at least a thousands times between Toledo and Hartford for years on end.

MTD, Sr.

Daryl H. Long Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:38pm

Cameron;

I agree with you. My statement applied only to the "blarge" situation I had in mind yet I failed to define it more clearly in my previous post. It wasn't intended as a blanket statement for all situations so thanks for bringing it to my attention.

And JR is right about the real world and how NF has ruled what officials should do when the blarge happens.

As a student of the rules it is my duty to give the NF feedback on their rules interpretations and in fact NF encourages it. I only was stating IMO that the rules committee dropped the ball on this one and gave some reasons why.

But the bottom line is that those of us who are officiating under NFHS rules are bound to enforce the rules as written without prejudice. While I may disagree with NF on some issues I am not at liberty to disreguard their rule and administer the game using my own opinion.

tjones1 Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Last night in a regional final, we had a block/charge. We had a three man crew, two of which had worked all year together and one was from another part of the state. We all got together after the call and discussed what we were going to do. We had discussed in pre game what was to happen: double foul, go to possesion arrow. We got together, talked about it and went with the double foul, bucket counts, and go to possesion arrow. We told both coaches what we had and what the rule was. They were fine with the decision. I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic. I was at fault because in pre game we talked about coverage areas and who follow who on a drive to the bucket. I was Lead table side and felt Center had not gotten back down court quick enough to cover the play--it was semi-fastbreak. Live and learn I guess. We never decided what it actually was, though?
I don't understand how you can have a block and a charge on the same play with the result being a double foul being called. Whether I'm doing two man or three man during the pregame we agree to yield to whoever is primary, however if it's my primary and we have different calls if my partner comes in strong I'll yield to my partner and let him/her live and die with the call. To me whoever was primary should have taken that call. In this case a double foul just looks bad.



Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition!! A convert has joined the fray.

MTD, Sr.


dblref Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:33pm

Re: Re: Re: Slip-sliding away, the language
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by QuebecRef87
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"three man crew, two of which"

Humor me. " . . . two of whom . . . "

Who cares...

Mr. Grammar Guy cares, wherever he may be . . . :)

You tell us.....where are you?

gordon30307 Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Cameron;

I agree with you. My statement applied only to the "blarge" situation I had in mind yet I failed to define it more clearly in my previous post. It wasn't intended as a blanket statement for all situations so thanks for bringing it to my attention.

And JR is right about the real world and how NF has ruled what officials should do when the blarge happens.

As a student of the rules it is my duty to give the NF feedback on their rules interpretations and in fact NF encourages it. I only was stating IMO that the rules committee dropped the ball on this one and gave some reasons why.

But the bottom line is that those of us who are officiating under NFHS rules are bound to enforce the rules as written without prejudice. While I may disagree with NF on some issues I am not at liberty to disreguard their rule and administer the game using my own opinion.

Just looked in my rule and case book can't find blarge.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
[/B]
Just looked in my rule and case book can't find blarge. [/B][/QUOTE]Case book play 4.19.7SitC

Rich Tue Mar 01, 2005 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by NoCall
Is this your first "Blarge"? Being in a regional final it would appear that you woulddn't be calling in someone else's area. Do you do this often? You must stay focused.
This comment always comes up and my response is always this:

Don't the lines denoting primary coverage MEET somewhere on the court? Hell, last week I had a TRIPLE whistle on a shooting foul -- if you looked at the spot on the court, it's where the three primaries come together.

It's not calling in someone else's area that's necessarily the problem, it's two officials not looking for the double whistle situation and just being quick and making two opposite calls.

OFISHE8 Tue Mar 01, 2005 04:02pm

That is exactly what I did. I felt that Center opposite table had yet to get into a position to make the call. Thus, I came with the call from Lead table side on a semi fast break and from my angle had a charge. He came strong because of our pregame and the discussion we had on coverage areas and drives to the bucket. He saw block and I saw charge. We got together and took our time and made the rulebook "ruling". Do I agree with the rulebook? On some things I do, but we cannot disregard the rulebook in cases like this. It is similar to the situation on a previous post about the Timer starting the clock on an inbounds play when the official mistakenly chops the clock on a pass along the baseline to another teammate out of bounds. Similar situation

gordon30307 Tue Mar 01, 2005 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
That is exactly what I did. I felt that Center opposite table had yet to get into a position to make the call.


This is the classic case of not trusting your partner. If you had a train wreck you could have held your whistle and waited for your partner or you could have blown your whistle with fist up and no signal. I'm hoping you had a double whistle and at the same time you both signalled Block and Charge respectively? If you both had fists up (no signal) and then discussed it I can't believe you settled on a double foul. Also if it's a semi fast break how could you possibly be aware of the Centers position. You should have been refereeing the defense.


Thus, I came with the call from Lead table side on a semi fast break and from my angle had a charge. He came strong because of our pregame and the discussion we had on coverage areas and drives to the bucket.

If Center called it as per your pregame you should have gone with his call. Otherwise why have a pregame.


He saw block and I saw charge. We got together and took our time and made the rulebook "ruling". Do I agree with the rulebook? On some things I do, but we cannot disregard the rulebook in cases like this. It is similar to the situation on a previous post about the Timer starting the clock on an inbounds play when the official mistakenly chops the clock on a pass along the baseline to another teammate out of bounds. Similar situation

Either you as Lead or the Center was wrong. One of you should have backed off. With a double foul you both were wrong.



TravelinMan Tue Mar 01, 2005 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Last night in a regional final, we had a block/charge. We had a three man crew, two of which had worked all year together and one was from another part of the state. We all got together after the call and discussed what we were going to do. We had discussed in pre game what was to happen: double foul, go to possesion arrow. We got together, talked about it and went with the double foul, bucket counts, and go to possesion arrow. We told both coaches what we had and what the rule was. They were fine with the decision. I know MTD would probably disagree based on his previous posts pertaining to this topic. I was at fault because in pre game we talked about coverage areas and who follow who on a drive to the bucket. I was Lead table side and felt Center had not gotten back down court quick enough to cover the play--it was semi-fastbreak. Live and learn I guess. We never decided what it actually was, though?
You say both coaches were fine with it. So my guess is the possession arrow was pointing to the team that was defending on the play. Because if the possession arrow was pointing to the offensive team, they get the score and the ball. Now, if I was the other coach I would be a bit upset on a play where one of the officials had it PC, which means bucket doesn't count and I get ball. What do you think?

Camron Rust Tue Mar 01, 2005 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307

Either you as Lead or the Center was wrong. One of you should have backed off. With a double foul you both were wrong.

But which one? ;)

Pregame does't mean anything once they both signaled.

Both made a call based on their angle and opinion. The play was in transition so the areas were shifting down the court. The entire play is the leads on a fast break no matter who's ultimate "primary" it was in. It only becomes a primary once the official is in position to cover it.

Once the both signaled, who could back off? Either way and one coach could have a very valid complaint that could eventually blow up.

Double foul is the clean and right solution once conflicting signals have been given.

TravelinMan Tue Mar 01, 2005 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307

Either you as Lead or the Center was wrong. One of you should have backed off. With a double foul you both were wrong.

But which one? ;)

Pregame does't mean anything once they both signaled.

Once the both signaled, who could back off? Either way and one coach could have a very valid complaint that could eventually blow up.


Why not hold up on signal if you can? Put up raised fist but come together to discuss. That way it does not look like either one of you are backing off, even though you may decide to do that. If you are both adamant about the call, then go with the blarge.

gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 09:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307

Either you as Lead or the Center was wrong. One of you should have backed off. With a double foul you both were wrong.

But which one? ;)

Pregame does't mean anything once they both signaled.

Both made a call based on their angle and opinion. The play was in transition so the areas were shifting down the court. The entire play is the leads on a fast break no matter who's ultimate "primary" it was in. It only becomes a primary once the official is in position to cover it.

Once the both signaled, who could back off? Either way and one coach could have a very valid complaint that could eventually blow up.

Double foul is the clean and right solution once conflicting signals have been given.

I disagree. With a double whistle what's the rush in signaling what the type of foul is being called. Fist in the air is what should have been done. Proper mechanic is to get together to discuss. I suspect no indication of of the type of foul was given. Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner. Note in the original post it was two guys who work togehter frequently with another official from out of state. I suspect the Center was the outsider. Easy explanation to the Coach we agreed in our pregame if this happened it would be Primary's call. Do I expect the Coach to be happy? Probably not.

The crew may have done a great job overall but in my opionion this particular play was handled poorly.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
[/B]
Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner. [/B][/QUOTE]It's usually a case of both officials trusting <b>themselves</b>. Both think that they got the call right. It ain't a big deal. Just go with the double foul and get the ball back into play asap. You can analyze it from here to next year, but sh*t happens--and to the best of us too.

gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner. [/B]
It's usually a case of both officials trusting <b>themselves</b>. Both think that they got the call right. It ain't a big deal. Just go with the double foul and get the ball back into play asap. You can analyze it from here to next year, but sh*t happens--and to the best of us too. [/B][/QUOTE]

Can't have a block and a charge on the same play. One is obviously wrong. Best way to handle is to give it to the primary. In this case it seems to be the leads call. Personally if I was one of the officials on this and my partner wanted the call that badly I'd give it to him/her and let him/her live or die with the call.

QuebecRef87 Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner.
It's usually a case of both officials trusting <b>themselves</b>. Both think that they got the call right. It ain't a big deal. Just go with the double foul and get the ball back into play asap. You can analyze it from here to next year, but sh*t happens--and to the best of us too. [/B]
Can't have a block and a charge on the same play. One is obviously wrong. Best way to handle is to give it to the primary. In this case it seems to be the leads call. Personally if I was one of the officials on this and my partner wanted the call that badly I'd give it to him/her and let him/her live or die with the call. [/B][/QUOTE]
Here we go again...

I must say I agree that it's practically impossible to have a block and a charge on the same contact. But if the book says to call a double foul, then just do it. Period.

Rich Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner.
It's usually a case of both officials trusting <b>themselves</b>. Both think that they got the call right. It ain't a big deal. Just go with the double foul and get the ball back into play asap. You can analyze it from here to next year, but sh*t happens--and to the best of us too. [/B]
Can't have a block and a charge on the same play. One is obviously wrong. Best way to handle is to give it to the primary. In this case it seems to be the leads call. Personally if I was one of the officials on this and my partner wanted the call that badly I'd give it to him/her and let him/her live or die with the call. [/B][/QUOTE]

Why is there a specific case play for this then?

gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner.
It's usually a case of both officials trusting <b>themselves</b>. Both think that they got the call right. It ain't a big deal. Just go with the double foul and get the ball back into play asap. You can analyze it from here to next year, but sh*t happens--and to the best of us too.
Can't have a block and a charge on the same play. One is obviously wrong. Best way to handle is to give it to the primary. In this case it seems to be the leads call. Personally if I was one of the officials on this and my partner wanted the call that badly I'd give it to him/her and let him/her live or die with the call. [/B]
Why is there a specific case play for this then? [/B][/QUOTE]

It's to handle the situation where two Ref's use poor mechanics when a double whistle occurs and neither one wants to back off. It's a way to cover your a**.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
[/B]
Why is there a specific case play for this then? [/B][/QUOTE]

It's to handle the situation where two Ref's use poor mechanics when a double whistle occurs and neither one wants to back off. It's a way to cover your a**. [/B][/QUOTE]Congratulations, Gordon. I've seen NCAA officials who have worked Final Fours be involved in blarges. I've seen it happen to officials that were regarded as some of the all-time greats of our avocation. It's nice to know that there's one official in the country that it would never happen to. Yup, gordon30307. Maybe you could offer your services to the NCAA. You know, go around to all of the conferences and teach their officiating staffs how to avoid blarges.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307

Either you as Lead or the Center was wrong. One of you should have backed off. With a double foul you both were wrong.

But which one? ;)

Pregame does't mean anything once they both signaled.

Once the both signaled, who could back off? Either way and one coach could have a very valid complaint that could eventually blow up.


Why not hold up on signal if you can? Put up raised fist but come together to discuss. That way it does not look like either one of you are backing off, even though you may decide to do that. If you are both adamant about the call, then go with the blarge.

That is the ideal...but the situation being discussed is when they've both already signaled...for whatever reason. If neither or just one has signaled, there is no issue.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307

Either you as Lead or the Center was wrong. One of you should have backed off. With a double foul you both were wrong.

But which one? ;)

Pregame does't mean anything once they both signaled.

Both made a call based on their angle and opinion. The play was in transition so the areas were shifting down the court. The entire play is the leads on a fast break no matter who's ultimate "primary" it was in. It only becomes a primary once the official is in position to cover it.

Once the both signaled, who could back off? Either way and one coach could have a very valid complaint that could eventually blow up.

Double foul is the clean and right solution once conflicting signals have been given.

I disagree. With a double whistle what's the rush in signaling what the type of foul is being called. Fist in the air is what should have been done. Proper mechanic is to get together to discuss. I suspect no indication of of the type of foul was given. Sounds to me that this is a case of not trusting your partner. Note in the original post it was two guys who work togehter frequently with another official from out of state. I suspect the Center was the outsider. Easy explanation to the Coach we agreed in our pregame if this happened it would be Primary's call. Do I expect the Coach to be happy? Probably not.

The crew may have done a great job overall but in my opionion this particular play was handled poorly.

As I also replied to Travelin...your suggestion is ideal but the point of the discussion is that they've both already signaled...for whatever reason. You can't take back the signals without potentially creating problems.

Rich Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Why is there a specific case play for this then? [/B]
It's to handle the situation where two Ref's use poor mechanics when a double whistle occurs and neither one wants to back off. It's a way to cover your a**. [/B][/QUOTE]Congratulations, Gordon. I've seen NCAA officials who have worked Final Fours be involved in blarges. I've seen it happen to officials that were regarded as some of the all-time greats of our avocation. It's nice to know that there's one official in the country that it would never happen to. Yup, gordon30307. Maybe you could offer your services to the NCAA. You know, go around to all of the conferences and teach their officiating staffs how to avoid blarges. [/B][/QUOTE]

The three things that Gordon isn't mentioning are:

(1) Primaries do meet up at certain places on the floor
(2) SOME block/charge decisions are close enough so that different angles may have different views of the play
(3) Officials are human

I have no problem with calling the AP as per the case book. However, I don't think one necessarily needs to stick with the AP if one of the officials is able to add additional information that can bring the crew to a consensus.

Hell, I pointed the wrong way on an out of bounds call last night because I missed a tip on the far side of the court. The trail helped me out and gave me additional information. Nothing FORCED me to keep my original call in this situation.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
[/B]
I have no problem with calling the AP as per the case book. However, I don't think one necessarily needs to stick with the AP if one of the officials is able to add additional information that can bring the crew to a consensus.

[/B][/QUOTE]Exactly. The case play tells us what to do when we can't agree on who got it right. Iow, it goes hand-in-hand with #3- us being human. Hey, I gotta admit that I've been involved in blarges before. Never ever came out of one feeling that I've failed as an official though, just because I happened to be involved in one. Never, ever jumped on my partner either for seeing the play differently than I did. We talk about it after the game. If we can get film, it's a good play to review also. I ain't smart enough to ensure that one will never happen to me again though.

gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Why is there a specific case play for this then?
It's to handle the situation where two Ref's use poor mechanics when a double whistle occurs and neither one wants to back off. It's a way to cover your a**. [/B]
Congratulations, Gordon. I've seen NCAA officials who have worked Final Fours be involved in blarges. I've seen it happen to officials that were regarded as some of the all-time greats of our avocation. It's nice to know that there's one official in the country that it would never happen to. Yup, gordon30307. Maybe you could offer your services to the NCAA. You know, go around to all of the conferences and teach their officiating staffs how to avoid blarges. [/B][/QUOTE]

The three things that Gordon isn't mentioning are:

(1) Primaries do meet up at certain places on the floor
(2) SOME block/charge decisions are close enough so that different angles may have different views of the play
(3) Officials are human

I have no problem with calling the AP as per the case book. However, I don't think one necessarily needs to stick with the AP if one of the officials is able to add additional information that can bring the crew to a consensus.

Hell, I pointed the wrong way on an out of bounds call last night because I missed a tip on the far side of the court. The trail helped me out and gave me additional information. Nothing FORCED me to keep my original call in this situation. [/B][/QUOTE]


gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 02:44pm

It's quite simply impossible to have a block and a charge. One of the officials is wrong. How you resolve this is a completely different issue. Going the double foul route is the wishy washee, beuracratic, kissing your sister, unable, to make a decision way to resolve this. If you're comfortable with that.... Hey whatever floats your boat.

ronny mulkey Wed Mar 02, 2005 03:02pm

Jr and Rich,

I would like to add to the primaries becoming blurred and tape that y'all talked about. When we have asked officials about these types of plays they can't agree upon WHERE the play started or the collision OCCURRED. They are flabbergasted when they see the play on tape. One, or both can be as far as 15 feet off in their guestimations. I think people do know their primaries, but instead of these plays being drawn up on a chalkboard, they happen at warp speed with focus on where defensive players are coming from and did the defensive player get there in time. The wonder is not that blarges occur, but that they don't occur more often than reported.

I'd also like to point out that most of the time these guys are very good officials.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 02, 2005 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
It's quite simply impossible to have a block and a charge. One of the officials is wrong. How you resolve this is a completely different issue. Going the double foul route is the wishy washee, beuracratic, kissing your sister, unable, to make a decision way to resolve this. If you're comfortable with that.... Hey whatever floats your boat.
Well, you're right that it can't be both. But as I said before, which one is wrong? The NFHS is a very clear case says neither...both calls stand.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 02, 2005 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
It's quite simply impossible to have a block and a charge. One of the officials is wrong. How you resolve this is a completely different issue. Going the double foul route is the wishy washee, beuracratic, kissing your sister, unable, to make a decision way to resolve this. If you're comfortable with that.... Hey whatever floats your boat.
And....how do you plan on resolving it, Gordon, if you call a charge and your partner calls a block...and your partner declines to change his call even though you tell him that, of course, <b>you</b> are <b>right</b>? I know that you've said that a blarge could never,ever in a gazillion years possibly occur when <b>you're</b> officiating, but humor me. You're already on record as saying that you won't change your call because to do so would be a "wishy-washy,bureaucratic,kissing your sister, unable to make a decision way to resolve this". Do you and your partner just stand there looking at each other while the players grow old and die, the earth cools and the solar system implodes? What's your solution?

RollTide Wed Mar 02, 2005 03:56pm

1) innie, minnie, miney, moe

2) flip a coin (probably will be seen by others though)

3) <s>draw straws</s> ... peaknuckle

4) if you're in a 3 man crew, get the official that isn't involved in the blarge to guess a # between 1 and 10 (and tell both captains what the # is for validation).. which ever official is the closest without going over, we go with his/her call

[Edited by RollTide on Mar 2nd, 2005 at 03:58 PM]

drothamel Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:08pm

My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.

Adam Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by drothamel
My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.
Maybe, but the spectators didn't pay to see us. :)

Dan_ref Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by drothamel
My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.
Maybe, but the spectators didn't pay to see us. :)

Good point.

Let the 2 players fight to the death, loser gets the foul.

gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
It's quite simply impossible to have a block and a charge. One of the officials is wrong. How you resolve this is a completely different issue. Going the double foul route is the wishy washee, beuracratic, kissing your sister, unable, to make a decision way to resolve this. If you're comfortable with that.... Hey whatever floats your boat.
And....how do you plan on resolving it, Gordon, if you call a charge and your partner calls a block...and your partner declines to change his call even though you tell him that, of course, <b>you</b> are <b>right</b>? I know that you've said that a blarge could never,ever in a gazillion years possibly occur when <b>you're</b> officiating, but humor me. You're already on record as saying that you won't change your call because to do so would be a "wishy-washy,bureaucratic,kissing your sister, unable to make a decision way to resolve this". Do you and your partner just stand there looking at each other while the players grow old and die, the earth cools and the solar system implodes? What's your solution?

Hey reading is a skill. Wishy-washy etal. is the double foul route. When I have a double whistle my fist goes up (no signal in this case) I find out what my partner has and if we differ we go to primary. If it's my primary and he/she still wants it (assuming we differ) I'll let him/her live or die with the call. If my partner (I trust my partner) feels that strongly perhaps my partner is right and I'm wrong.

Adam Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by drothamel
My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.
Maybe, but the spectators didn't pay to see us. :)

Good point.

Let the 2 players fight to the death, loser gets the foul.

But does it have to be the two players involved? Or can the captains pick a fighter?

QuebecRef87 Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by drothamel
My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.
Maybe, but the spectators didn't pay to see us. :)

Good point.

Let the 2 players fight to the death, loser gets the foul.

But does it have to be the two players involved? Or can the captains pick a fighter?

I think you guys should stop now... We got the point. :rolleyes:

Dan_ref Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by drothamel
My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.
Maybe, but the spectators didn't pay to see us. :)

Good point.

Let the 2 players fight to the death, loser gets the foul.

But does it have to be the two players involved? Or can the captains pick a fighter?

Good question. We have to do *something* until MTD publishes the proper procedure, so I would go with the 2 players involved, unless 1 of them was injured in the collision and the coach can name a replacement to take his place.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by drothamel
My personal favorite would have to be rock, paper scissors. Although I think that a fight to the death at center court, with all of the players circled round, between the officials in question would be much more entertaining that going to the possession arrow.
Maybe, but the spectators didn't pay to see us. :)

Good point.

Let the 2 players fight to the death, loser gets the foul.

But does it have to be the two players involved? Or can the captains pick a fighter?

Good question. We have to do *something* until MTD publishes the proper procedure, so I would go with the 2 players involved, unless 1 of them was injured in the collision and the coach can name a replacement to take his place.

All of those are dumb.

Flip a cheerleader.

RollTide Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:58pm

do you guarantee you will catch the cheerleader JR, or will you too busy trying to see ..... lol

Camron Rust Wed Mar 02, 2005 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
It's quite simply impossible to have a block and a charge. One of the officials is wrong. How you resolve this is a completely different issue. Going the double foul route is the wishy washee, beuracratic, kissing your sister, unable, to make a decision way to resolve this. If you're comfortable with that.... Hey whatever floats your boat.
And....how do you plan on resolving it, Gordon, if you call a charge and your partner calls a block...and your partner declines to change his call even though you tell him that, of course, <b>you</b> are <b>right</b>? I know that you've said that a blarge could never,ever in a gazillion years possibly occur when <b>you're</b> officiating, but humor me. You're already on record as saying that you won't change your call because to do so would be a "wishy-washy,bureaucratic,kissing your sister, unable to make a decision way to resolve this". Do you and your partner just stand there looking at each other while the players grow old and die, the earth cools and the solar system implodes? What's your solution?

Hey reading is a skill. Wishy-washy etal. is the double foul route. When I have a double whistle my fist goes up (no signal in this case) I find out what my partner has and if we differ we go to primary. If it's my primary and he/she still wants it (assuming we differ) I'll let him/her live or die with the call. If my partner (I trust my partner) feels that strongly perhaps my partner is right and I'm wrong.

You're still missing the point...We all agree that if no signals have been given you talk about it and make one call. But both have signaled in this case. What do you do now?

How can this happen? Consider if the play happened when both the defender and the dribbler had one foot in the lead's primary and one foot in the trail's primary and are moving in a direction parallel to the boundary of the primaries. Who's primary is it in? Both officials saw it as their primary.

gordon30307 Wed Mar 02, 2005 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
It's quite simply impossible to have a block and a charge. One of the officials is wrong. How you resolve this is a completely different issue. Going the double foul route is the wishy washee, beuracratic, kissing your sister, unable, to make a decision way to resolve this. If you're comfortable with that.... Hey whatever floats your boat.
And....how do you plan on resolving it, Gordon, if you call a charge and your partner calls a block...and your partner declines to change his call even though you tell him that, of course, <b>you</b> are <b>right</b>? I know that you've said that a blarge could never,ever in a gazillion years possibly occur when <b>you're</b> officiating, but humor me. You're already on record as saying that you won't change your call because to do so would be a "wishy-washy,bureaucratic,kissing your sister, unable to make a decision way to resolve this". Do you and your partner just stand there looking at each other while the players grow old and die, the earth cools and the solar system implodes? What's your solution?

Hey reading is a skill. Wishy-washy etal. is the double foul route. When I have a double whistle my fist goes up (no signal in this case) I find out what my partner has and if we differ we go to primary. If it's my primary and he/she still wants it (assuming we differ) I'll let him/her live or die with the call. If my partner (I trust my partner) feels that strongly perhaps my partner is right and I'm wrong.

You're still missing the point...We all agree that if no signals have been given you talk about it and make one call. But both have signaled in this case. What do you do now?

How can this happen? Consider if the play happened when both the defender and the dribbler had one foot in the lead's primary and one foot in the trail's primary and are moving in a direction parallel to the boundary of the primaries. Who's primary is it in? Both officials saw it as their primary.

If this happened to me and I foolishly signaled with a double whistle and my partnered really wanted the call I would give it to him/her. My explanation to the unhappy Coach. Coach in our pregame we agreed whoever the play was going to would take the call. Coach it's impossible to have a block and charge on the same play I'm sure you agree. He would say yes and we would play on. Hey this is my hyopothetical play and I can end it this way if I like........

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Mar 02, 2005 07:12pm

It has been my observation over the years (34 years to be exact) that "blarges' occur very rarely in a three-person officating crew, but are quite common in a two-person officating crew. It is also my observation over the years, that when a "blarge" occurs in a game with a two-person officiating crew, the official who is calling a blocking foul is almost always calling out of his primary, did not see the entire play, was not officiating the defense, and is always wrong.

MTD, Sr.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 02, 2005 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
[/B]
If this happened to me and I foolishly signaled with a double whistle and my partnered really wanted the call I would give it to him/her. My explanation to the unhappy Coach. Coach in our pregame we agreed whoever the play was going to would take the call. Coach it's impossible to have a block and charge on the same play I'm sure you agree. He would say yes and we would play on. Hey this is my hyopothetical play and I can end it this way if I like........ [/B][/QUOTE]Oh? And what ever happened to the concept of getting the call right? You <b>know</b> that you're right, but you're gonna go with your partner's call anyway?

Strange philosophy, Gordon, strange philosophy.

Boiler14 Wed Mar 02, 2005 08:01pm

Correct me if I'm wrong (like I need to solicit that invitation...)

I'm thinking 2-man here, but it can definately happen in 3-man.

I'm lead and I have a banger to call. It is bang-bang, blow the whistle and SELL your call. As the calling official you are into making the call and possibly didn't hear your partner's whistle (I have yet to notice anyone pointing this out) to even know to look what he has.

As the trail it is easier to notice if your partner has blown his whistle if you have simultaneious whistles because there isn't as much of a crowd in front of you. As lead you may have 6 guys all taller than you (as my case more than not) and can't see your partner. Nevermind the fact you are selling the snot out of your call to let everyone know you were on top of the play.

You can try to be deliberate all you want, but in a close game, a loud gym, and one that needs to be sold, I'm likely not to think about my partner having the call.

gordon30307 Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
If this happened to me and I foolishly signaled with a double whistle and my partnered really wanted the call I would give it to him/her. My explanation to the unhappy Coach. Coach in our pregame we agreed whoever the play was going to would take the call. Coach it's impossible to have a block and charge on the same play I'm sure you agree. He would say yes and we would play on. Hey this is my hyopothetical play and I can end it this way if I like........ [/B]
Oh? And what ever happened to the concept of getting the call right? You <b>know</b> that you're right, but you're gonna go with your partner's call anyway?

Strange philosophy, Gordon, strange philosophy. [/B][/QUOTE]

Hey J Not really. Impossible to have a block and charge on the same play. I trust my partner if he/she really feels strongly about it I have no problem giving them the benefit of the doubt. I'd rather fall on the sword and have the crew look good than look like a bunch of nitwits calling a double foul. Incidentally in terms of getting it right a double foul is definitely wrong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1