![]() |
|
|||
I was in the stands watching the officials when this happened.
It's in the 3rd period of a close JVG game. B1 commits a foul and T goes to report to the table. Scorer puts up both index fingers side-by-side indicating FT's and T interprets it as shooting a "one and one". They go to the line and the shooter A1 misses the front end. The ball is rebounded by A3 and while moving the ball around the perimeter, A3 is fouled by B2. During the reporting of this foul the scorer tells the reporting official the last foul should have been a double bonus, not a one and one, and the foul by B2 is in the double bonus. 1)The second foul is B2's 5th foul. She should be gone but she is also one of their key players. 2)A1 is 'owed' a FT from the first foul. 3)There hasn't been a change of possession. 4)Time has expired from the clock. 5)This is the first deadball timeout since the FT error. Now... 1)Coach A wants a 2nd FT for A1 and for A3 to also shoot her double bonus and for B2 to be DQ'd. 2)Coach B maintains if the double bonus was shot by A1, B2 would never have gotten her 5th foul so he wants that wiped out if A1 receives her 2nd shot and no shots for A3. 3)Both coaches also want the time put back onto the clock. My gut reaction would have been to give A1 her 2nd shot. Still charge B2 with her 5th foul since it did occur. Give A3 two shots and to not put time back onto the clock since I'm not sure of exactly how much time elapsed. Now that's common sense, but what do the rules allow for? |
Bookmarks |
|
|