The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Solve this one (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18703-solve-one.html)

Dan_ref Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
Here is something I have always wondered....

If your not supposed to contact the rim while the ball is in contact with the rim, howcome a dunk is legal??? As you can tell, I am bored today....

Because the BI rule alows for a ball to be carried from outside the cylinder to inside the cylinder.

On the original play:

1) T for hanging on the rim
2) T for dunking with a dead ball
3) T on the coach when you call #2. ;)


I get it. You wanna be MTD Sr. when you grow up. :D

A true MTD wannabe would have had a reference to at least 1 of the following:

- his attic,
- J Dallas Shirley,
- a vacation he took with the family 8 years ago,
- a brief yet passionate youthful daliance that ended all too soon leaving fond memories of an innocent time filled with sunshine and laughter only to resurface in his declining years with a bitter edge made only sharper by alcohol, disappointment and the sadly pathetic realization that he'll never wear that byron collar again.

ChuckElias Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
- a brief yet passionate youthful daliance that ended all too soon
A cone of dalliancity? :confused:

Dan_ref Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
- a brief yet passionate youthful daliance that ended all too soon
A cone of dalliancity? :confused:

A SHAFT of daliancity.

Grant Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:55pm

I guess i should have said NCAA rules how do we restart

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
A true MTD wannabe would have had a reference to at least 1 of the following:

- his attic,
- J Dallas Shirley,
- a vacation he took with the family 8 years ago,
- a brief yet passionate youthful daliance that ended all too soon leaving fond memories of an innocent time filled with sunshine and laughter only to resurface in his declining years with a bitter edge made only sharper by alcohol, disappointment and the sadly pathetic realization that <font color = red>he'll never wear that byron collar again</font>.
[/B][/QUOTE]You mean, he'll never wear that byron color again <b>with</b> his navy-blue culottes, white knee socks and snow-white runners, while riding off into the sunset with his faithful companion, Sancho Preacher, to "T" up disrespectful windmills and slay the mythical Blarge.

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 22, 2005 04:37pm

Aw geeze, Dan. Made me spit on the screen again. lol

Grant Tue Feb 22, 2005 04:47pm

Still no answer to how a restart the game after the T is it AP

tmp44 Tue Feb 22, 2005 05:04pm

Restart after T
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Grant
Still no answer to how a restart the game after the T is it AP
NFHS: If Technical is called on Team A, Team B shoots 2 for the T and inbounds at half-court, opposite the table. Why the confusion regarding if AP is involved?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 22, 2005 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
Here is something I have always wondered....

If your not supposed to contact the rim while the ball is in contact with the rim, howcome a dunk is legal??? As you can tell, I am bored today....

Because the BI rule alows for a ball to be carried from outside the cylinder to inside the cylinder.

On the original play:

1) T for hanging on the rim
2) T for dunking with a dead ball
3) T on the coach when you call #2. ;)


I get it. You wanna be MTD Sr. when you grow up. :D

A true MTD wannabe would have had a reference to at least 1 of the following:

- his attic,
- J Dallas Shirley,
- a vacation he took with the family 8 years ago,
- a brief yet passionate youthful daliance that ended all too soon leaving fond memories of an innocent time filled with sunshine and laughter only to resurface in his declining years with a bitter edge made only sharper by alcohol, disappointment and the sadly pathetic realization that he'll never wear that byron collar again.


ROFLMAO

totalnewbie Tue Feb 22, 2005 05:51pm

[hey Grant, this is the part where the senior guys descend into little inside jokes back and forth and the question doesnt actually get discussed any more :)

rainmaker Tue Feb 22, 2005 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by totalnewbie
[hey Grant, this is the part where the senior guys descend into little inside jokes back and forth and the question doesnt actually get discussed any more :)
Yea, those of us that are above these kinds of insults are below the NCAA level, and can't answer the question.

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by totalnewbie
[hey Grant, this is the part where the senior guys descend into little inside jokes back and forth and the question doesnt actually get discussed any more :)
Yea, those of us that are above these kinds of insults are below the NCAA level, and can't answer the question.

Now that's funny!

RefSouthAlb Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:

Originally posted by Grant
but then there is no possession so how do we restart certainly not at center
Huh?
In this sitch, NFHS rules, technical foul, you go opposite table at the division line.

Too Clarify,

Grant is referring to NCAA rules not NFHS.

As such

Indirect T then point of interruption, In this scenario no possesion so AP.


Forksref Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
Here is something I have always wondered....

If your not supposed to contact the rim while the ball is in contact with the rim, howcome a dunk is legal??? As you can tell, I am bored today....


10-3-4 A player shall not "Grasp either basket..."

This is not the same as contact. In my much younger days I could dunk, but I have to admit, it hurt my wrists. Dunking is not as glamorous as it appears! I used to contact the rim, but not "grasp" it.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
Here is something I have always wondered....

If your not supposed to contact the rim while the ball is in contact with the rim, howcome a dunk is legal??? As you can tell, I am bored today....

Because the BI rule alows for a ball to be carried from outside the cylinder to inside the cylinder.

On the original play:

1) T for hanging on the rim
2) T for dunking with a dead ball
3) T on the coach when you call #2. ;)


I get it. You wanna be MTD Sr. when you grow up. :D

I interpreted the original question to be a "rules" question (a la "stump the ump"), not neccesarily a "how would you really handle this" question.

The NCAA reference is 10-3.12, R2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1