The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2005, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
I would like to get basketball officials opinions on this senario. It appeared on our state basketball exam.

First quarter: Administrative technical foul on Team B. By accident the officials shoot the 2 Free throws at the wrong basket. A1 makes both shots. 2 points are added to team A's score.

Fourth quarter ends. Game tied. Team B coach calls the officials over and points out the error in the first quarter. He says that since the shots we administered at his basket, the 2 points should have been given to his team (Team B) and not to Team A (the team who shot the 2 Free throws into the wrong basket).

Official rules that:
1- It is a correctable error but that it is too late to correct.
2- Even though the shots went into Team B's basket they were shot by A1 and they count for Team A.
Game tied. Overtime will be played.

Is the official correct?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1