The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member

Question

I'm relatively new to reffing basketball. This is my second year. I've umpired baseball for six years.

I sit in on the halftime talk between varsity partners and listen. I hear them say things like, "Team A has 9 fouls and team B has 2. We need to even that up." "Find something to call in the first few minutes to let the coaches know you are watching."

In baseball we are supposed to call the game the same in the last inning as we do the first. In a blowout we might widen the strike zone but we do it for both teams. Sometimes it seems like the basketball varsity guys and gals are adjusting to appease coaches.

Is this my imagination or a valuable game management tool in basketball?

Rita
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member

Imagination

It's your imagination....

Do you think the coach of team with 9 fouls is telling his players, hey fouls are 9 to 2. The refs will let us get away with stuff at the start of the second half, so get some good hacks in until the foul count evens out. NO!

These guys are YAHOOS! If they're saying stuff like that, I'd find other officials to learn from.
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 06:27pm
In Memoriam

It's your imagination. Call the game the same way you do your baseball games--consistent from start to finish. Please don't take those two clowns as role models. Lah me.
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member

I have not reffed a game yet and even I think that is ridculous thinking from expierienced officials.

That is like penalizing a team for playing good clean defence.
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 06:36pm
Do not give a damn!!