The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 09:43am
Official Forum Member

I am a coach in a rec league coaching 17-18 year old boys team. I need a claification on when a team can call a timeout. I know you can call a timeout when you have possesion of the ball, or during a dead ball situation. If team A scores a basket, when can team A call a timeout? Also, if team A makes a free throw (second of two shoots), when can team A call a timeout. Is it up until Team B inbounds the ball, or until the ball is at team B's disposal to inbound the ball. We are playing games according to the NFHS rules. Thanks for your help
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 09:48am
Official Forum Member

SECTION 8 TIME-OUT, STOPPING PLAY
Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:
ART. 1 . . . Signals:

a. A foul.
b. A held ball.
c. A violation.

ART. 2 . . . Stops play:

a. Because of an injury as in 3-3-5, 6.
b. To confer with the scorer or timer.
c. Because of unusual delay in getting a dead ball live.
d. For any other situations or any emergency.

NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play.

ART. 3 . . . Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when:

a. The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team.