The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I need help for 2 situations (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18550-i-need-help-2-situations.html)

Rev.Ref63 Wed Feb 16, 2005 12:34pm

Situation 1 - To start the 2nd quarter, the possession arrow is pointing to team A. Before the ball is given to A's thrower, the table beckons the official to report a team A book violation. Team B gets 2 throws; what happens next regarding possession and the possession arrow?


Situation 2 - Team B is at the line to shoot the bonus. After the first shot is on the way, B player, without stepping into the lane, pushes A player resulting in a personal foul. The foul shot goes in. What happens at this point?




rainmaker Wed Feb 16, 2005 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rev.Ref63
Situation 1 - To start the 2nd quarter, the possession arrow is pointing to team A. Before the ball is given to A's thrower, the table beckons the official to report a team A book violation. Team B gets 2 throws; what happens next regarding possession and the possession arrow?


Situation 2 - Team B is at the line to shoot the bonus. After the first shot is on the way, B player, without stepping into the lane, pushes A player resulting in a personal foul. The foul shot goes in. What happens at this point?




Sitch A -- Okay, first of all, the book mistake is not a violation. If you want a generic name for the problem, you could use "infraction" or "error". Now I'll beat that little OC demon back and answer the important question. The arrow does not switch, A keeps it. They will get the next held ball or AP sitch that arises.

Sitch 2 -- basket counts. Report the foul on B, and A takes the ball oob or gets shots depending on the bonus status.

IURef Wed Feb 16, 2005 01:09pm

if this was the first shot of a one and one or two shot situation would you finish the free throws for the team that is shooting and then walk to the other end and shoot those...or how is this handled?

rainmaker Wed Feb 16, 2005 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IURef
if this was the first shot of a one and one or two shot situation would you finish the free throws for the team that is shooting and then walk to the other end and shoot those...or how is this handled?
First of one-and-one or of two -- finish A1's shots (lane cleared), then schlep to the other end for shots there. That's Fed

NCAA -- shoot B's shots then go back and finish A's? someone else will have to confirm that.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:01pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

NCAA -- shoot B's shots then go back and finish A's? someone else will have to confirm that.
That's the right ruling if this had been a T, Juulie. Since it was a P, though, it's a false double foul. Administer in the order the fouls happened.


rainmaker Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:04pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

NCAA -- shoot B's shots then go back and finish A's? someone else will have to confirm that.
That's the right ruling if this had been a T, Juulie. Since it was a P, though, it's a false double foul. Administer in the order the fouls happened.

Yea, I figured I didn't have it 100%!

Rev.Ref63 Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:45pm

Amazingly, we got both of the calls right. I was pretty sure about the book infraction, but was questioning myself on the free throw situation.

Thanks for your input everyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1