The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 09:42am
Official Forum Member

Last Friday I was attending a boys varsity game in my hometown. I am an 8th grade girls coach who often brings my team to the HS to watch the games on Fridays. This was a bitter rivalry game. The last time these two teams played, however, they took us behind the woodshed and gave us a 25 point beatdown.

In this game, however, we were playing great and controlling the game. We were up 45-40 with about 2 minutes left in the game. That's when it all went nuts.

A player from the visiting team attempted a 3-pointer from the corner. One of our players went for the block and clipped the shooter on the elbow as he went by. The official immediately called a foul and gave the shooter 3-shots. At this, the kid for our team said something he shouldn't have and was promptly whistled for a T by the same official who called the original foul. Of course, our crowd went ballistic.

The fouled player proceeded to hit all five free-throws to tie the game. All the while, our crowd was shouting hideous things at the officials. It was embarrassing. It seems that they conveniently forgot that this was the same kid who got ejected at a critical point in the game last week for the same type of goofball behavior.

Our team went on to win the game in triple-overtime, so the play will certainly be forgotten by the hometown partisans. I was thinking to myself, "It was an obvious foul, and presumably, an obvious technical foul. Why are you people yelling at the ref, and why aren't you yelling at our kid who can't shut up and is going to cost us this game?" Apparently, I was the only one who thought this way. Imagine that!