The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Interference??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18472-basket-interference.html)

FrankHtown Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:46pm

A1 shoots a layup...the ball rolls along the flange, and is falling off the other side. I (trail) can see the bottom of the ball go below the level of the rim, but not in the basket. Ball is still touching flange on it's way down, again, outside the basket, when it is tapped in by offence.

I let it go, maybe by mistake, feeling that the ball had no chance of going in, and felt it was a tapped in rebound. An experienced ref, watching the game (this was JV boys) said that if the ball was contacting the flange, even with no chance of going in, offensive BI should have been called.

I'm willing to admit I kicked it, but I thought the ball had to be on the rim, or in the cylinder.

Thoughts?

Baseman611 Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:49pm

What level?

FrankHtown Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:50pm

Boys JV

Almost Always Right Mon Feb 14, 2005 01:26pm

Rule 1 Sect.10 Art.1 states . . .Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring 18 inch diameter, ITS FLANGE AND BRACES, etc . . .
Therefore, on the rim includes the Flange.
Rule 4.6 now applies - The rulebook says "basket" but rim in this instance is the same.
AAR

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 14, 2005 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
A1 shoots a layup...the ball rolls along the flange, and is falling off the other side. I (trail) can see the bottom of the ball go below the level of the rim, but not in the basket. Ball is still touching flange on it's way down, again, outside the basket, when it is tapped in by offence.

I let it go, maybe by mistake, feeling that the ball had no chance of going in, and felt it was a tapped in rebound. An experienced ref, watching the game (this was JV boys) said that if the ball was contacting the flange, even with no chance of going in, offensive BI should have been called.

I'm willing to admit I kicked it, but I thought the ball had to be on the rim, or in the cylinder.

Thoughts?

Great call. The ball has to be <b>on</b> the ring to have BI. If it's on the side of the ring, it's legal to touch it.

Read case book play 9.11.1SitF and give yourself an Attaboy.

BktBallRef Mon Feb 14, 2005 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Almost Always Right
Rule 1 Sect.10 Art.1 states . . .Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring 18 inch diameter, ITS FLANGE AND BRACES, etc . . .
Therefore, on the rim includes the Flange.
Rule 4.6 now applies - The rulebook says "basket" but rim in this instance is the same.
AAR

Are you saying this is a violation?

ChuckElias Mon Feb 14, 2005 02:47pm

Just in case it's unclear from the various posts, I'm going to agree with JR. Frank, your no-call was correct. It is only a violation if the ball is in the cylinder or on the rim. The ball was touching the rim but not on. Therefore, no violation.

thumpferee Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm

An "Attaboy" from me too!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1