|  | 
| 
 NFHS RULES: Player recieves ball on free throw. Player B violates. Player A signals for Timeout. Official grants. Resuming Play is the delayed violation still in affect or does the timeout negate it? Does player A still get the extra throw from B's violation prior to time out? Can't figure this one out. Help. Thanks. | 
| 
 help Anyone out there with some insight?  | 
| 
 9.4.1.C. | 
| 
 I don't see this covered specifically in rules. I say no violation in your scenario. The delayed violation and signal assumes the shooter is making a try for the free throw and is continuing through that process. The time-out breaks that string of proceedures. Spirit of the rules you hold violations during the attempt. team chose not to attempt. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 The player will still get his free throws etc., Thanks David | 
| 
 This was discussed in a past post.  I believe the violation would still be in effect based on that discussion.  I'll try and find the thread unless someone else out there can find it first.   | 
| 
 For those of you confused by BZ's case play reference, he was almost right.  Unfortunately, his dyslexia kicked in temporarily.  What he meant was 9.1.4C.  (You still have a delayed violation.) | 
| 
 I don't see how a TO would negate a violation or a foul once it has been committed. | 
| 
 Ok, so let me see if I understand this: A receives ball for FT attmpt. prior to shooting B commits lane violation (steps into lane or whateve), A calls timeout before the attempt. What I am hearing is that A will get a free shot on first attempt and if missed would get a re-attempt. That sound about right here. I don't have my rulebook yet so I can't look it up. Wingin' it | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 9.1.4 SITUATION C: A1 is preparing to attempt a free throw. Prior to A1's release of the ball, B1 fakes causing A2 to enter the lane prematurely. A1 then requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Upon resuming play, A1 is entitled to a free throw and the official shall use the proper signal indicating a violation by B1 prior to the granting of the time-out. If the free throw is successful, the violation is ignored, if unsuccessful a substitute throw is awarded. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 I had asked about this a couple of weeks ago, because NCAA women's came out with this very interpretation.  It didn't seem logical at first; in fact several people said they wouldn't call it that way because they thought the free throw attempt had ended with the timeout request.  But I had a couple of people mention it to me this way - when B1 steps in, it's a violation, with a specific penalty, (albeit a delayed one), and A calling a timeout wouldn't wipe away that penalty, like WyMike said.  The confusion seems to come in with the "delayed" part.  But it's still a violation, with a specific penalty. | 
| 
 You mean had my ex-wife called a TO right after I caught her, I wouldn't be divorced now???  | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am. |