The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,032
Quote:
Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Welcome to the forum.
The NCAA rules are available online at http://www.ncaa.org Here is what you need to know:

BR-90 RULE 4-66/DEFINITIONS

A.R. 38. Is it traveling when a player (a) falls to the playing court while holding the ball; or (b) gains control of the ball while on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?
RULING: In (a), yes, because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor. In (b), no. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over.
When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.
Joefan99 wanted to know if it is traveling if the player rebounding the ball fell to the floor on his back before his feet hit the floor and would incidental contact from the opposing team make any difference in the call. The above ruling does not address his question.
The AR doesn't say that the player who fell to the floor was standing with his feet on the floor, only that he was holding the ball. Of course, the ruling certainly implies that his feet were on the floor otherwise he wouldn't have to worry about moving a pivot foot. Good point, Willie. I didn't think of it the way you did.

I know that NFHS has a case play that says it is traveling to catch a pass in the air and then fall when coming down. However, Joe asked about an NCAA game so I tried to stick strictly with NCAA rules. Maybe this situation isn't specifically addressed.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1