The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2005, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
Question

Tonight had a call which I believe was the right call by the rule book and stood by firmly...

Team A up 2 points, about 20 seconds left, out of bounds under Team B's basket for an inbound pass (dead ball, not made basket). Full court press from B... B1 is aggressively guarding the ball and reaches over the line and slaps the ball. Whistle! Technical Foul. (2 shots and ball for A)

Checked it by my partner who agreed with the direct call, rather than a warning. Player and captain (intermurals, so equivilent to coach) demanded that it is a warning first. My understanding of the rule is if he reaches over, its a warning... but if he touches the ball behind the line, its an automatic tech.

Ironically, A shooter missed both free throws and they turned it over on the inbound pass, allowing Team B to score at the buzzer to tie the game (no OT in regualar intermural season, everyone gets to go to playoffs)

But for future reference, was I in the right? Or would you issue a warning. Thoughts appreciated.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1