Tonight had a call which I believe was the right call by the rule book and stood by firmly...
Team A up 2 points, about 20 seconds left, out of bounds under Team B's basket for an inbound pass (dead ball, not made basket). Full court press from B... B1 is aggressively guarding the ball and reaches over the line and slaps the ball. Whistle! Technical Foul. (2 shots and ball for A)
Checked it by my partner who agreed with the direct call, rather than a warning. Player and captain (intermurals, so equivilent to coach) demanded that it is a warning first. My understanding of the rule is if he reaches over, its a warning... but if he touches the ball behind the line, its an automatic tech.
Ironically, A shooter missed both free throws and they turned it over on the inbound pass, allowing Team B to score at the buzzer to tie the game (no OT in regualar intermural season, everyone gets to go to playoffs)
But for future reference, was I in the right? Or would you issue a warning. Thoughts appreciated.
|