The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2001, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 21
Question

I was watching a University final game of the regular season with first place on the line when this happened. My buddy was doing the game and wanted some input on this situation. A1 has just picked up her dribble and a 5 count has started. After about three seconds, B1 reaches in to get the ball and gets her finger caught between the tape job of A1's index finger and thumb. As a result the ball goes loose. A1 and B1 can't get untangled and are both standing around helpless. Nothing happens for about 2-3 seconds, as I guess the players were shocked about what happened. Finally, B2 runs and picks up the ball, on her way to an apparent breakaway, when one of the officials blows the play dead. Is there a rule that covers this? Is it a foul on B2 for "reaching in" or a technical foul on A1 for a bad tape job? Should the officials let this go and play on or do we have the classic do over (which is what they did by the way). Your inputs would be appreciated

JamieSlick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1