The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10 second violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18196-10-second-violation.html)

hbomzer Fri Feb 04, 2005 07:48am

Team A pressed in backcourt for 4 seconds, ball then tipped out of bounds by defense in backcourt. After ensuing inbounds, partner calls 10 second violation after six seconds elapse (adding 6 to the previous 4).

Shouldn't it always reset to 10 seconds because team control is lost when ball goes out of bounds?

thanx,
HB

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 04, 2005 07:53am

Yes
 

hbomzer Fri Feb 04, 2005 08:03am

THANX

amirrow Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:13am

follow up on 10 secon violation
 
Is there a rule in a rule book I could refer to regarding this question? A ref in my league just made the same (incorrect) call, picking up where he left off in his 10 second count after the ball was tipped out of bounds in the back court. He explained later that since there was no change in possession that the count should continue where it left off.

I'd like to be able to point to a rule showing him his error.

This error did not change the outcome of the game, but came close as the game was a one-point game with 42 seconds left when the call was made.

thx,
Art

zebraman Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:22am

Re: follow up on 10 secon violation
 
Quote:

Originally posted by amirrow
Is there a rule in a rule book I could refer to regarding this question? A ref in my league just made the same (incorrect) call, picking up where he left off in his 10 second count after the ball was tipped out of bounds in the back court. He explained later that since there was no change in possession that the count should continue where it left off.

I'd like to be able to point to a rule showing him his error.

This error did not change the outcome of the game, but came close as the game was a one-point game with 42 seconds left when the call was made.

thx,
Art

See Casebook 9.8 Situation C (b)

Z

amirrow Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:31am

casebook 9
 
Thank you very much, Z. If I could beg one additional piece of help....

I'm a new coach, so I'm not at all certain how to find the Casebook you refer to. Can you point me in the right direction.

Apologies in advance for the ignorance, and thanks again for the reply.

Art

Jay R Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:40am

The rule is different in the NBA and FIBA. 8 seconds and it does not restart unless of a violation (kick etc...)

In my home province, we use FIBA rules but it is 10 seconds instead of 8.

Mark Padgett Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:36pm

The NF rule you want is 9-8. It states you can only have this violation if the team is in continuous control of a ball in their backcourt for 10 seconds. When the ball is tipped OOB, team control is lost and is not regained until a player on the court obtains player control. Therefore, the count restarts from 10.

Tell this ref that "possession" is not a operative term in this instance. "Player control" and "team control" are operative terms.

tmp44 Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:42pm

Art,

You can order the case book off of the NFHS website. http://www.nfhs.com , then click on Basketball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1