The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 47
Originally posted by BktBallRef

If it's a direct technical foul on a player for intentional contact, it isn't a POI situation. The opposing team gets 2 shots and the ball.

I did some research of my own and found out that the NCAA posts their rules online.

http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball_rules.pdf

Rule 10.8.1 lists the penalty for a direct technical foul as two shots to the offended team. The ball is then put back in play at the POI.

Reading further, Rule 10.16 states that the penalty for an intentional technical foul would be two shots to the offended team as well as possession of the ball. Since there was no ejection on the play, this was probably the call.

Thanks for your response.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1