The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical Foul Administration in Illinois-Michigan State Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18132-technical-foul-administration-illinois-michigan-state-game.html)

Bart Tyson Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:42am

OK, back to one of my earlier questions. dead ball contact T-foul. describe a situation that not be a intentional T?

Dan_ref Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK, back to one of my earlier questions. dead ball contact T-foul. describe a situation that not be a intentional T?
When it's flagrant. Penalty is the same plus the offender is DQ'ed.

(That's the point, under ncaa-m rules a dead ball contact T is either intentional or flagrant.)

Bart Tyson Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:57am

Dan_ref, you are making this difficult. Exclude a Flagrant.

Dan_ref Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Dan_ref, you are making this difficult. Exclude a Flagrant.
Bart, that's what I'm trying to tell you. Under ncaa-m rules your choices in this case are nothing, intentional T or flagrant T.




Bart Tyson Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:15pm

OK, I misunderstood a false double. I will go back and read the rule. Thanks

ChuckElias Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:31pm

Had this exact sitch last night. Partner gets the personal and then the T, but forgets that it's dead ball. He explains to both coaches that it's 2 shots for blue, then white ball at POI. I wasn't part of conversation, I was opposite the table observing the players. He comes over and tells me what he told the coaches, and I just asked, "Wasn't it dead ball contact?" The light goes on and he has to go back and tell the coaches that it's actually FTs for blue then blue ball. White coach wasn't happy. But we got it right.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK, I misunderstood a false double. I will go back and read the rule. Thanks
It is a false double foul. For a false double foul, you administer the penalties for both fouls, in the order they happened. In this example, first the personal, then the (intentional) T.




Bart Tyson Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:55pm

Bob, the book states, "... when one of the fouls is a direct or indirect technical foul, point of interruption".

bob jenkins Wed Feb 02, 2005 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Bob, the book states, "... when one of the fouls is a direct or indirect technical foul, point of interruption".
Yes. And this was neither a direct nor an indirect technical foul. This was an intentional technical foul.


Mark Dexter Wed Feb 02, 2005 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Bob, the book states, "... when one of the fouls is a direct or indirect technical foul, point of interruption".
Yes. And this was neither a direct nor an indirect technical foul. This was an intentional technical foul.


Bob, from a scorekeeping point of view, though - an intentional technical foul counts as one of the two for disqualification, right?

bob jenkins Wed Feb 02, 2005 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Bob, the book states, "... when one of the fouls is a direct or indirect technical foul, point of interruption".
Yes. And this was neither a direct nor an indirect technical foul. This was an intentional technical foul.


Bob, from a scorekeeping point of view, though - an intentional technical foul counts as one of the two for disqualification, right?

As a practical matter, yes.


BktBallRef Wed Feb 02, 2005 05:54pm

Bart, you're making this more difficult than it is, partner.

A false double foul is a situation where a foul occurs and the second foul occurs before the clock restarts.

4-26-12
A false double foul occurs when there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.

All contact technical fouls are intentional, unless they are flagrant.

10-15-1
An intentional technical foul involves intentionally contacting an opponent in a non-flagrant manner when the ball is dead.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Feb 2nd, 2005 at 06:10 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1