The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 106
Loose ball. Kid dives on ball. Slides on floor, on bell, with ball. How far can he slide? Is there a limit? What's the applicable rule?

Yep, I know he can't twist or roll over and can't attempt to get up unless he's dribbling, but what about "the slide"?
__________________
Call what you SAW...not what you see!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
What bell? I think the bell would stop him quite suddenly.

When a player dives and secures a loose ball, he can slide til he stops sliding (no limit).
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
What bell? I think the bell would stop him quite suddenly.

When a player dives and secures a loose ball, he can slide til he stops sliding (no limit).
Hey, that was post #400 for me :-)
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 09:05am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,284
Lightbulb Casebook ruling.

Player can slide until their momentum stops.

4.43.5 SIT B in the casebook.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 93
Does it make a difference if the player is dribbling the ball before going to the floor. A1 is running and dribbling, tries to stop and slips, goes into slide still dribbling, after starting slide grabs ball and continues to slide. Still not a travel?
__________________
If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by bigzilla
A1 is running and dribbling, tries to stop and slips, goes into slide still dribbling, after starting slide grabs ball and continues to slide.
Some of the things that some of you guys see kids do is absolutely amazing. I've been doing this for almost 20 years and I've never see most of these things.

If he's holding the ball when anything other than his hand or foot is touching the floor, it's traveling.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,816
Quote:
Originally posted by bigzilla
Does it make a difference if the player is dribbling the ball before going to the floor. A1 is running and dribbling, tries to stop and slips, goes into slide still dribbling, after starting slide grabs ball and continues to slide. Still not a travel?
It is impossible to travel during a dribble.

Had the player held the ball (stopped the dribble) and THEN touched the floor (w/ other than a hand or foot), it would be travelling.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
4.43.5 SITUATION A: Is it traveling if A1 falls to the floor: (a) while holding the ball; or (b) after being airborne to catch a pass or control a rebound? RULING: Yes in both (a) and (b).
4.43.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

4.43.5 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling when he/she: (a) drops to a position with a knee on the floor and then ends the dribble; or (b) drops one knee to the floor and then stands again while continuing the dribble. RULING: The action in both (a) and (b) is legal. However, if A1 touches a knee to the floor while holding the ball, it would be traveling as A1 has touched the floor with something other than a hand or foot.
4.43.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1