The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another Backcourt Question. Sorry! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18064-another-backcourt-question-sorry.html)

SamIAm Mon Jan 31, 2005 06:19pm

I guess it is possible to start dribbling in the backcourt then hop all the way to the baseline and back to the backcourt (still hopping) within 10 seconds. But then you still have to make back into the front court before that same 10 second count ends. Heaven help you if someone starts guarding you anywhere in the scenario. I don't see much of a risk in that happening within a 10 second count. I'll try it next time I have the opportunity and report back.

By the way I tried repeating the steps in the orginal sitch. It isn't easy to step forward with your back foot while reversing a dribble.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 31, 2005 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I would give <a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=<a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=Credit">Credit</a>"><a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=Credit">credit</a></a> if I knew who said it but I don't: You can dribble all the way to the baseline and back in to the backcourt while hopping on one foot if you were dribbling when you crossed the halfcourt line.

You should then whistle a 10 second violation on the dribbler.

I wouldn't make that call if I were you.

The rule assumes a player who is walking/running normally on two feet. This player is NOT in the BC. The 10 second count better stop when it's obvious that he is no longer in the BC.

I will call it(a 10-second violation) whenever he/she hops back to the backcourt.

First, it's an assinine play. Don't know why we're even discussing it.

Second, when he's hopping and dribbling in the FC, he's in the FC.

Thrid, if he hops back into the BC, you have a BC violation, not a 10 second violation.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 31st, 2005 at 06:51 PM]

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Jan 31, 2005 06:55pm

Re: Tony what are you thinking?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Ball and one foot are in frontcourt.

Last foot goes into frontcourt.

Next dribble of the ball is in backcourt.

Tony/BBR How is that not a BC violation?

Did I read this differently than you did?

But why was the original scenario not a BC violation. What did I read different from you?

SamIAm Mon Jan 31, 2005 07:18pm

I agree an assinine play, but I can back up a 10 second count violation by rule.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 31, 2005 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I agree an assinine play, but I can back up a 10 second count violation by rule.
You wrote, "You can dribble all the way to the baseline and back in to the backcourt while hopping on one foot if you were dribbling when you crossed the halfcourt line."

So, you're telling me that if a player hops on one foot, while dribbling the basketball, crosses the division line, hops to the endline, you can call a 10 second violation if he doesn't put his other foot on the floor in the FC?

You're nuts.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 01, 2005 10:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I agree an assinine play, but I can back up a 10 second count violation by rule.
Yep. And by rule you can judge that a player holding the ball and hopping on the non-pivot foot all over the front court is legal.

The finite words in the rules don't specifically cover the infinite possibilities -- some common sense is needed. Unfortunately, common sense ain't so common.


SamIAm Tue Feb 01, 2005 11:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I agree an assinine play, but I can back up a 10 second count violation by rule.
You wrote, "You can dribble all the way to the baseline and back in to the backcourt while hopping on one foot if you were dribbling when you crossed the halfcourt line."

So, you're telling me that if a player hops on one foot, while dribbling the basketball, crosses the division line, hops to the endline, you can call a 10 second violation if he doesn't put his other foot on the floor in the FC?

You're nuts.

I'm nuts? You are the one asking me for clarifications on a play you said was assinine, I agreed it was assinine and listed a farfetched play where it could happen, but never will.
In the original FARFETCHED-ASSININE play where I described the dribbler hopping around, I posted I would blow my whistle once the dribbler returned to the backcourt.
Either way that is a violation, be it BC or 10-Second.
Man I wish I knew who originally post that scenario on this forum!

I did not post nor would I actually call a violation for your post So, you're telling me that if a player hops on one foot, while dribbling the basketball, crosses the division line, hops to the endline, you can call a 10 second violation if he doesn't put his other foot on the floor in the FC?, in fact that sounds like a bit of
mis-information that should not be posted on this board. ;)


Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
[/B]
So, you're telling me that if a player hops on one foot, while dribbling the basketball, crosses the division line, hops to the endline, you can call a 10 second violation if he doesn't put his other foot on the floor in the FC?

[/B][/QUOTE]Legal, as long as he can rub his stomach counter-clockwise at the same time. Rule 11-1-3.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I agree an assinine play, but I can back up a 10 second count violation by rule.
Yep. And by rule you can judge that a player holding the ball and hopping on the non-pivot foot all over the front court is legal.

I'd disagree with that one. When a player hops (read jumps), it is a travel:

"If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

However, the backcourt status while hopping is, while it will never occur, correct. The 3-pionts rule is pretty specific that the dribbling player is in the backcourt until both feet (and the ball) touch in the frontcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1