![]() |
|
|||
Player X is dribbling on a fast break, when the ball is tipped away by a defender. X goes out of bounds while chasing down the ball, comes back in, takes two steps, and is the first to touch the ball. The coach goes wild screaming about it. I think it was not out of bounds under 4-16-6 (d).."Out of bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble." Comments?
__________________
If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague. |
|
|||
Yes..X is dribbling, the ball is tipped away. X goes out of bounds for a step, comes back onto the court still chasing the ball, takes two full strides on the court, and touches the ball. The coach was of the opinion that once you left the court, you could not be the first person to touch the ball after reentering. My position was as stated, plus having taken two full strides while in bounds, the player had re-established.
__________________
If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague. |
|
|||
Yeah, I guess the only thing you could have here is a T on player X for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. But, I would bet quite a bit no one would call that one.
BTW: Welcome to the forum!!!! ![]() [Edited by tjones1 on Jan 26th, 2005 at 11:11 PM] |
|
|||
Thanks for the welcome. I made that call last night in a game. Tonight, my partner calls me to tell me that the "offended" coach had posted it on a website, wanting to know whether I had made the right call. Most said yes, although one tried to say I was wrong based on the "throw in violation" rule that a person cannot throw the ball in and be the first to touch it, which of course has nothing to do with the play that happened.
__________________
If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague. |
|
|||
High school varsity. As I am coming down the court, and the head coach is having an anuerism over this, the asst coach chirps in, "She went out of bounds-- she can't do that!!" I said, "Sure she can"..to which he responded "you better go look that one up!", to which I responded with a technical.
__________________
If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague. |
|
|||
Quote:
That rule does not apply in the situation described.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
7.1.1 B & C in the case book describes a similar situation. As long as the player did not leave the court voluntarily, as opposed to momentum , and re - establishes on the court, the player is legal.
|
|
|||
The "can't be the first to touch the ball" thing is a confusion many have that is a mix of a football rule, and the throw-in rule, combined with a sprinkle of NBA seasoning. The easiest reply is, "Show it to me in the book, and I'll start calling it." Put the burden to look it up on them.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|