The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pregame Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17952-pregame-technical-foul.html)

ETSUOfficial Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:06pm

In NFHS, a pregame technical foul is given to Team B for a dunk during pregame. Team A begins regulation with the ball at midcourt. Does Team B get the possession arrow?

Almost Always Right Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:13pm

Yes

Almost Always Right Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:16pm

Just to add to that:
What happens to the head coach(if anything)?
Does it count as a team foul?
Is it administrative?
Just a couple of questions to get the juices flowing.
TR

ETSUOfficial Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Almost Always Right
Just to add to that:
What happens to the head coach(if anything)?
Does it count as a team foul?
Is it administrative?
Just a couple of questions to get the juices flowing.
TR

My understanding - Coach is charged an indirect technical foul. He sits for the rest of the game. The player is given a tech, personal, and the team is given a team foul.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
Quote:

Originally posted by Almost Always Right
Just to add to that:
What happens to the head coach(if anything)?
Does it count as a team foul?
Is it administrative?
Just a couple of questions to get the juices flowing.
TR

My understanding - Coach is charged an indirect technical foul. He sits for the rest of the game. The player is given a tech, personal, and the team is given a team foul.

Almost right.

The player is not given a "personal". The T does, though, count as one of the five fouls toward the player's disqualification.

rainmaker Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
Quote:

Originally posted by Almost Always Right
Just to add to that:
What happens to the head coach(if anything)?
Does it count as a team foul?
Is it administrative?
Just a couple of questions to get the juices flowing.
TR

My understanding - Coach is charged an indirect technical foul. He sits for the rest of the game. The player is given a tech, personal, and the team is given a team foul.

Almost right.

The player is not given a "personal". The T does, though, count as one of the five fouls toward the player's disqualification.

And remember, this is for NFHS. FIBA, NCAA, NBA, CBL, and any other rule systems out there might be different.

thumpferee Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ETSUOfficial
Quote:

Originally posted by Almost Always Right
Just to add to that:
What happens to the head coach(if anything)?
Does it count as a team foul?
Is it administrative?
Just a couple of questions to get the juices flowing.
TR

My understanding - Coach is charged an indirect technical foul. He sits for the rest of the game. The player is given a tech, personal, and the team is given a team foul.

Correct. See Technical Foul Summary Chart

Where is the Rule reference for the change of arrow on this ? I know I read it somewhere, but I can't find it.


ETSUOfficial Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:51pm

[[/B][/QUOTE]

Almost right.

The player is not given a "personal". The T does, though, count as one of the five fouls toward the player's disqualification.
[/B][/QUOTE]

In refering to a personal foul, I am refering the fact that a technical foul does count towards the five for disqualification.

DownTownTonyBrown Wed Jan 26, 2005 05:56pm

No arrow CHANGE
 
The arrow becomes SET once Team A completes their throw-in.

Once Team A has inbounded the ball, the arrow should be set to Team B.

I'm looking at an old book (01-02) but check around Rule 8-5-2, 6-3-1, and 4-3.

thumpferee Wed Jan 26, 2005 06:16pm

AHHHHH!

Case Play 6.4.1 Sit A

Thanks DTTB!

Daryl H. Long Wed Jan 26, 2005 06:35pm

If B1 dunks here are the penalties.

1. Technical foul on player B1. This counts toward his disqualification for 2 T's or 5 fouls and as a team foul toward bonus. (10.3.4; Technical Foul Plenalty Summary pg 73 rule book; 4.8.2)
2. Coach of Team B is given an indirect T. He also loses coaching box and muxt sit for remainder of the game. (4.19.5.e; 10.3.4.Penalty; 10.5.3 note 1)
3. The game starts with any Team A player at the line for two free throws. (10.3 Penalty, 8.3)
4. The arrow is set IMMEDIATELY toward team B when A has the ball at his/her disposal for a throwin following the freethrows (4.3.3) Do not wait for the throwin to be completed.

[Edited by Daryl H. Long on Jan 26th, 2005 at 06:38 PM]

BktBallRef Wed Jan 26, 2005 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Almost right.

The player is not given a "personal". The T does, though, count as one of the five fouls toward the player's disqualification.

And remember, this is for NFHS. FIBA, NCAA, NBA, CBL, and any other rule systems out there might be different.

Nope, not in the NBA.

Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
The arrow becomes SET once Team A completes their throw-in.

Once Team A has inbounded the ball, the arrow should be set to Team B.

Actually, the arrow is set when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower, not after the throw-in is complete. Why? Because Team A's throwin is NOT an AP throw-in.

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 26, 2005 08:25pm

Re: No arrow CHANGE
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
The arrow becomes SET once Team A completes their throw-in.

Once Team A has inbounded the ball, the arrow should be set to Team B.

I'm looking at an old book (01-02) but check around Rule 8-5-2, 6-3-1, and 4-3.


Not quite.

4-3-3b: The initial direction of the arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after the free throws for a noncommon foul.

This way, if there's a held ball on the throw-in (A holds the ball over the court, B ties it up), we'll have a posession arrow off of which to base our call.

QuebecRef87 Wed Jan 26, 2005 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
And remember, this is for NFHS. FIBA, NCAA, NBA, CBL, and any other rule systems out there might be different.
Nope, not in the NBA.
Um... Watch out for the punctuation!

Quote:

And remember, this is for NFHS. (STOP) FIBA, NCAA, NBA, CBL, and any other rule systems out there might be different.
:-P


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1