The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Do they get to run the baseline again? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17931-do-they-get-run-baseline-again.html)

FrankHtown Wed Jan 26, 2005 08:59am

Team A1 inbounding on baseline after made basket. Throws in to A2. A2 is immediately pushed by B1 who is pressing,trapping, etc., maybe about 4 or 5 feet onto the court. Foul is called on B1, and ensuing throw-in will be by Team A on the baseline again. Is Team A able to run the baseline? Or is it a spot throw-in?

Adam Wed Jan 26, 2005 09:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
Team A1 inbounding on baseline after made basket. Throws in to A2. A2 is immediately pushed by B1 who is pressing,trapping, etc., maybe about 4 or 5 feet onto the court. Foul is called on B1, and ensuing throw-in will be by Team A on the baseline again. Is Team A able to run the baseline? Or is it a spot throw-in?
Spot throw-in. The provision that allows them to keep the endline throw-in ends when the original throw-in ends. Once A2 touched the inbounds pass, the throw-in ended and normal throw-in provisions apply.

Adam

Nevadaref Wed Jan 26, 2005 09:10am

If the A2 touched the ball before the foul, then it is a spot throw-in. If the foul occurs DURING the throw-in, ie before the ball was touched inbounds, then team A will be able to run the end line.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 26, 2005 09:12am

darn you Adam :)
1 minute!

FrankHtown Wed Jan 26, 2005 09:12am

TY!

Adam Wed Jan 26, 2005 09:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
darn you Adam :)
1 minute!

:D

blindzebra Wed Jan 26, 2005 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
If the A2 touched the ball before the foul, then it is a spot throw-in. If the foul occurs DURING the throw-in, ie before the ball was touched inbounds, then team A will be able to run the end line.
If the spot of the foul will be administered on the endline.;)

Nevadaref Thu Jan 27, 2005 01:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
If the A2 touched the ball before the foul, then it is a spot throw-in. If the foul occurs DURING the throw-in, ie before the ball was touched inbounds, then team A will be able to run the end line.
If the spot of the foul will be administered on the endline.;)

Yeah, but since he specified that in the original post, I didn't feel the need make this comment. ;)

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
Foul is called on B1, and ensuing throw-in will be by Team A on the baseline again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1