The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
In my opinion the officials are correct in ignoring Coach A's pleas for a violation. A1 gets a new free throw and the violation by B1 is ignored. I would say the rule behind it is that a free throw ends when the ball becomes dead. When A1 gave the ball back to the official the ball became dead and that free throw (and all related activity to include the violation) also ended; thus, the next free throw is a totally new one. I agree the whistle should blow to be IAW the rule book and officially make the ball dead, but it is dead when the official takes it back. Also, since the ball is back in the official's hand why can't B6 enter the game? I would have allowed B6 to enter and replace B1 too.

This is similar to a discussion we had this year. A1 has a free throw. B1 violates before the shot and you signal with a closed fist. A calls a time-out before A1's shot. Does the violation carry over? The answer we came up with is no because the TO caused the ball to become dead and the free throw ends on a dead ball so after the TO the free throw by A1 is a new one and the violation does not carry over.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1