The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17760-travel-not.html)

Dan_ref Wed Jan 19, 2005 09:47pm


A1 falls down holding the ball but lands on B1 who is already on the floor (don't ask, let's just say no illegal contact involved). A1 does not at any time touch the floor.

Travel? Or not.

David B Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:14pm

Uhh...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

A1 falls down holding the ball but lands on B1 who is already on the floor (don't ask, let's just say no illegal contact involved). A1 does not at any time touch the floor.

Travel? Or not.

Travel.

Thanks
David

Adam Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:46pm

Does he move his pivot foot? I think I saw his pivot foot move.

Dan_ref Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Does he move his pivot foot? I think I saw his pivot foot move.
You can move your pivot foot legally.

tjones1 Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:50pm

Sounds like a travel--assuming he moved his pivot. I've yet to see someone fall and keep one foot on the floor.....but there's a first for everything! ;)

Adam Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:51pm

I know. I'm thinking PC here. B1 is disadvantaged by the contact because he can't get up.

keithb Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:53pm

Let's put it this way: If you call a travel who's going to argue?

ChuckElias Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:43am

I once saw this in an NBA game. Kevin McHale secured an offensive rebound, fell back onto a player who had fallen on the floor. While sitting on the other player (don't know if it was a teammate or not), McHale shot the ball and it went in. Good basket.

thumpferee Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:04am

What if B1's hand was OOB when A1 fell on him/her?

Smitty Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee
What if B1's hand was OOB when A1 fell on him/her?
I believe touching a person who is out of bounds does not make you out of bounds. That's defined in the rulebook somewhere where it defines touching a "thing" out of bounds and it specifically says that a person does not count as a "thing"....if that makes any sense at all. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
I once saw this in an NBA game. Kevin McHale secured an offensive rebound, fell back onto a player who had fallen on the floor. While sitting on the other player (don't know if it was a teammate or not), McHale shot the ball and it went in. Good basket.
I thought that the NBA rule was NO travelling if you fell with the ball. I also thought that there's an NBA rule saying if an official calls travelling more than once a game, he's automatically fined and suspended. Or does it just seem that way?

NBA basketball- it's fantaaaaastic<font size = -3>(but we can't beat Italy)</font>.

thumpferee Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee
What if B1's hand was OOB when A1 fell on him/her?
I believe touching a person who is out of bounds does not make you out of bounds. That's defined in the rulebook somewhere where it defines touching a "thing" out of bounds and it specifically says that a person does not count as a "thing"....if that makes any sense at all. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

The reason I ask, if you look at rule 7-1-2,2 says any other person. But then I read Case play 7-1-1 A

Ah, nevermind, they differenciate between player and ball, I got it!

thanks

Rick Durkee Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

A1 falls down holding the ball but lands on B1 who is already on the floor (don't ask, let's just say no illegal contact involved). A1 does not at any time touch the floor.

Travel? Or not.

Do you mean that there was no illegal contact that caused B to go to the floor? Or do you mean that A falling on B was not illegal contact? I would call the travel, but just for fun, is there any way to justify this as a PC foul?

WyMike Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

A1 falls down holding the ball but lands on B1 who is already on the floor (don't ask, let's just say no illegal contact involved). A1 does not at any time touch the floor.

Travel? Or not.

If the ball crosses the plane of the endzone without A1 being down by contact it's a touch.... er... nevermind.

coachgrd Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
I once saw this in an NBA game. Kevin McHale secured an offensive rebound, fell back onto a player who had fallen on the floor. While sitting on the other player (don't know if it was a teammate or not), McHale shot the ball and it went in. Good basket.
Been a while since I've watched the NBA (10 years) but last I knew, traveling was thrown out of their rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1