The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17749-violation.html)

tjones1 Wed Jan 19, 2005 03:30pm

Yep, same idea. But remember it wouldn't apply if it was a throw-in.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 19, 2005 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Junker
Okay, here's the explaination of what I had and did last night. A makes a basket. B1 grabs the ball and heads out of bounds. B2 then runs OOB and B1 tosses the ball to him. By their body language and the way they are moving (how's that for by the book terminology) I could tell that what they were trying to do is get the correct person for their press break inbounding the ball. Since I had yet to begin my 5 second count, I did not call this a violation. Had I begun counting, I would have called a violation. Had B2 caught the ball and dribbled up the court, I also would not have called a violation. Sorry there's no rulesbook quotes in here, but they're in the bag and Wednesday's my day off from games.
Your failure to start the count is an error on your part. Don't penalize Team A by not properly calling the violation.

TPS2859 Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:07pm

One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.

Junker Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:07pm

I understand what you are saying about getting my count started. My thoughts were that this is a sophomore game, they were getting their play organized. It didn't delay the game for a significant period of time. They weren't trying to gain an advantage. They didn't gain an advantage as the press was still in about the same defensive position (after B2 got the ball, he was at about the same spot that B1 was). I would have given the other team the same treatment. Now, in a Varsity game, I'd call the violation, especially after the thoughts on this post. Thanks.

tjones1 Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.
10-4! Sounds good.

Junker Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:15pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by TPS2859
[B]One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.

Thanks, this is what I was trying to articulate on the post. I just didn't have my rulesbook language straight.

Grail Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Junker
I understand what you are saying about getting my count started. My thoughts were that this is a sophomore game, they were getting their play organized. It didn't delay the game for a significant period of time. They weren't trying to gain an advantage. They didn't gain an advantage as the press was still in about the same defensive position (after B2 got the ball, he was at about the same spot that B1 was). I would have given the other team the same treatment. Now, in a Varsity game, I'd call the violation, especially after the thoughts on this post. Thanks.
Maybe it's just me, but I think the violation is as important at an underclass level as at the varsity level. If you don't call the violation in the underclass games, how do the players learn to do it right at the varsity level. If it's a league that asks refs to give instruction you might blow the whistle and explain and have a do-over, but in a HS game I think you need to make the call. Otherwise when the kids graduate to varsity they will think the play is legal.

CK Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:31pm

quote:

Originally posted by Junker
Okay, here's the explaination of what I had and did last night. A makes a basket. B1 grabs the ball and heads out of bounds. B2 then runs OOB and B1 tosses the ball to him. By their body language and the way they are moving (how's that for by the book terminology) I could tell that what they were trying to do is get the correct person for their press break inbounding the ball. Since I had yet to begin my 5 second count, I did not call this a violation. Had I begun counting, I would have called a violation. Had B2 caught the ball and dribbled up the court, I also would not have called a violation. Sorry there's no rulesbook quotes in here, but they're in the bag and Wednesday's my day off from games.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
quote:

Your failure to start the count is an error on your part. Don't penalize Team A by not properly calling the violation.
----------------------------------------------------------

So exactly how is this a violation regardless of when the 5 second count started? (I am assuming B1 IS oob.)

[Edited by CK on Jan 20th, 2005 at 12:29 PM]

joseph2493 Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Junker
Okay, here's the explaination of what I had and did last night. A makes a basket. B1 grabs the ball and heads out of bounds.

So far so good

B2 then runs OOB and B1 tosses the ball to him. By their body language and the way they are moving (how's that for by the book terminology) I could tell that what they were trying to do is get the correct person for their press break inbounding the ball.

B2 is out of bounds and receives the ball. Legal during throw in after made basket.

Since I had yet to begin my 5 second count, I did not call this a violation.

Started count or not...it is legal for the players to pass the ball to each other OOB after a made basket as long as it is withing their 5 seconds.

Had I begun counting, I would have called a violation.

You would wrongly called a violation. Once again made basket all the passing they want OOB within their 5 seconds.

Had B2 caught the ball and dribbled up the court, I also would not have called a violation.

Well, here we do have a violation. B2 receives ball from B1 OOB after made basket, then dribbles ball up the court. Failure to throw ball directly onto the court during a throw in.

Sorry there's no rulesbook quotes in here, but they're in the bag and Wednesday's my day off from games.

williebfree Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:01am

Learn the fundamentals
 
I realize that we all have "brain-farts" from time to time, but numerous comments throughout this thread have demonstrated misunderstandings of many fundamentals in basketball.

If you are struggling with these basic concepts I strongly urge you to spend more time reviewing definitions (Rule 4). I spend time in my rule book (and here in the forum) daily, so that I can improve my knowledge and understanding and application.

Best wishes to all and continue to strive for improvement! :)

rainmaker Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.
10-4! Sounds good.

Actually, Tanner, 10-4 is technicals. I don't think we need that in this situation.

tjones1 Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:52am

;) Thanks Juulie! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1