The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   dribler forces contact (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17746-dribler-forces-contact.html)

rainmaker Wed Jan 19, 2005 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
If B1 is in front of A1 instead of alongside A1 when contact is initiated by A1 dribbling the ball, this is no longer a legal moving screen, but a block, isn't it?
That's a completely different play. That's a block.

Tony -- I don't understand this. Please explain.

ChiliBob Wed Jan 19, 2005 06:03pm

In either case, you might get ready to "T" up a coach unless you know for sure what you have.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 19, 2005 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by zanzibar
A1 is running and dribbling. B1 is running alongside A1. A1 initiates the contact by forcing himself into B1 as they are running. There is enough contact that a foul should be called. My partner says foul on B1 for not having legal guarding position. Who is the foul on?


This is a player control foul on A1. Yes, B1 is not in a legal guarding position, but is effecting a legal moving screen against A1. A1 cannot move into B1.

MTD, Sr.

If B1 is in front of A1 instead of alongside A1 when contact is initiated by A1 dribbling the ball, this is no longer a legal moving screen, but a block, isn't it?


No it wouldn't be a block, it would be a pushing or charging foul by A1 and since A1 had control of the ball when committing the foul, A1's foul is a player control foul.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 19, 2005 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
Alright this will sound stupid but I'm reading the rule book under 10-6-1, 2, & 3 and it never mentions a dribbler or ball handler in Art. 3 concerning screens. Is it possible to actually screen a dribbler?

In the notes section under Art. 3 it goes on to state when a guard moves into the path of a dribbler and contact occurs, either player may be responsible for the contact. But the greater responsibility is on the dribbler if the guard conforms to the following principles - guard must be in guarding position with both feet on the floor and facing the dribbler.



Go back to Rule 4, Definitions (both NFHS and NCAA) and read the definitions of guarding and screening. You will see that only defensive players can guard, but any player on the court either offensivie (including the player in control of the ball) or defensive players can set a screen.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 19, 2005 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
If B1 is in front of A1 instead of alongside A1 when contact is initiated by A1 dribbling the ball, this is no longer a legal moving screen, but a block, isn't it?
That's a completely different play. That's a block.

Tony -- I don't understand this. Please explain.

Pretty sure you know a block when you see one Juules.

rainmaker Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
If B1 is in front of A1 instead of alongside A1 when contact is initiated by A1 dribbling the ball, this is no longer a legal moving screen, but a block, isn't it?
That's a completely different play. That's a block.

Tony -- I don't understand this. Please explain.

Pretty sure you know a block when you see one Juules.

Yea, okay, but when I'm seeing this play I'm seeing the dribbler initiating contact on a defender that's moving away. Why is that a block?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1