The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2005, 05:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Re: too late

Quote:
Originally posted by golfdesigner
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
watching the finals of championship tourney this past weekend..4000 people in the stands.
A1 has 2 shots coming after a shooting foul, A1 shots first shot and misses, B2 rebounds turns outlets everyone is getting back on defense, referees are right with them, no one says a word...team B scores, team A takes ball out of bounds comes down the court sets up offense, BUZZ, table now informs ref that they didn't shoot the 2nd shot about :54 seconds ago....

the crew got together, they took the 2 pts that team b scored off the board, went back and lined everyone back up and shot the 2nd freethrow and continued game from there...

What should of been the correct way to handle this??
1] the crew got together -- Good, right thing to do
2] they took the 2 pts that team b scored off the board --
wrong Rule 2-10-5 "Rule 2 Section 10 Article 5 . . . Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Errors because of free-throw attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 2.

3] went back and lined everyone back up and shot the 2nd freethrow and continued game from there oops, too late to fix this correctable error ART. 2 . . . In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
clock started on the missed free throw rebounded by B; the ball became dead on made basket -- error needs to be recognized before ball is picked up by A to inbound


4] went back and lined everyone back up and shot the 2nd freethrow and continued game from there... same oops as #3 above

Now philosophical Question is the awarding of the additional free throw, that came from "fixing" the correctable error now correctable?

Great response gd.
Also, I'm answering yes to your final question. That FT is now UNmerited and subject to the normal 2-10 provisions.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1