The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quick OOB Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17508-quick-oob-question.html)

cmckenna Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:19pm

My apologies up front if this has been asked and answered before. I am at work and can't spend much time searching...

A1 is inbounding the ball on the baseline. B2 swats the ball back OOB where A1 catches it still OOB. I called OOB on A1 since it had touched nothing else OOB but him and award the ball to B. I think I was wrong and my partner was not sure as well. He has seen it called both ways.

If the inbounder is still OOB does it make a difference? My partner thought it did. Basically he says that the inbounder is like the wall or the floor untill he establishes himself in bounds, so the OOB should have been on B2 with A getting the ball back.

Rules reference if possible so I can memorize it and commit it to memory.

Thanks

johnSandlin Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:24pm

You made the right call. Go to the inbounding the ball section of the rule book. A player is still out of bounds until he or she has reestablished themselves back in bounds.

blindzebra Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
My apologies up front if this has been asked and answered before. I am at work and can't spend much time searching...

A1 is inbounding the ball on the baseline. B2 swats the ball back OOB where A1 catches it still OOB. I called OOB on A1 since it had touched nothing else OOB but him and award the ball to B. I think I was wrong and my partner was not sure as well. He has seen it called both ways.

If the inbounder is still OOB does it make a difference? My partner thought it did. Basically he says that the inbounder is like the wall or the floor untill he establishes himself in bounds, so the OOB should have been on B2 with A getting the ball back.

Rules reference if possible so I can memorize it and commit it to memory.

Thanks

Is the player throwing the ball in, in the game, and therefore a player?

7-1-1 and 7-1-2-A are the rules that apply.

cmckenna Mon Jan 10, 2005 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by johnSandlin
You made the right call. Go to the inbounding the ball section of the rule book. A player is still out of bounds until he or she has reestablished themselves back in bounds.
Thanks John,

It was my partners statement that got me thinking. When he stated that the inbounding player was like a wall OOB util he has established himself inbounds that makes it impossible for the inbounder to "cause" the ball to be OOB again.

I thought I had it nailed but he made me think. That is why I have a headache today. :-)

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna

A1 is inbounding the ball on the baseline. B2 swats the ball back OOB where A1 catches it still OOB. I called OOB on A1 since it had touched nothing else OOB but him and award the ball to B.

Case book play 7.2.2 is the exact same play as yours. You got it right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1