The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 1999, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
Post

Although I've been a coach for the last 18 years, I'm in my first year of officiating. A veteran official posed this question to me at our meeting the other night. What's your call if A1 has released the ball for a try, but before the ball goes in the basket:

1.) B1 fouls A2 battling for rebound position
2.) A2 fouls B1 battling for rebound position

I say the basket is good in both instances with A getting the ball out of bounds nearest the foul in situation 1 and B getting it out of bounds in situation 2.
Our veteran official agreed with my decision in the first situation, but disagreed in situation number 2. He contended that the foul by the offense in situation 2 made the ball dead immediately and wipes out the basket. I have never seen this situation called in my 18 years as a coach. The rule book (exception 6-7-7) says that a foul (other than player control) does not cause the ball to become dead until the try or tap ends. Help, and thanks.

[This message has been edited by Pirate (edited December 16, 1999).]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 1999, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 89
Thumbs up

You are correct, basket counts in both situations, with ball given to A in first case and B in second case.
Only player control foul causes to become dead even after going in the basket.
There is one exception to this rule, see if you can find it in your case book, you have it quite often, but nobody calls it for fear of being killed by both coaches (hint).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 1999, 07:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Post

Yeah, you're good. Baskets count in both.
Did you find the exception?
mick

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 1999, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 89
Wink

quote:
Originally posted by mick on 12-16-1999 06:13 PM
Yeah, you're good. Baskets count in both.
Did you find the exception?
mick



Yes, I know where it is, since I asked the question. The question is does he or do you?
Hint #2 Both refs blow the whistle at the same time! Why?

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 1999, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 55
Wink

quote:
Originally posted by Pirate on 12-16-1999 04:39 PM
Our veteran official agreed with my decision in the first situation, but disagreed in situation number 2. He contended that the foul by the offense in situation 2 made the ball dead immediately and wipes out the basket. [This message has been edited by Pirate (edited December 16, 1999).]


Pirate,
Good call. Find a new vet to be your mentor!!! :-D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 1999, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Richard Kreimer on 12-16-1999 05:46 PM

There is one exception to this rule, see if you can find it in your case book, you have it quite often, but nobody calls it for fear of being killed by both coaches (hint).


Thanks for helping out this old rookie with my question. I'm a little unsure of what you are asking regarding an exception to "this rule." You are going to have to spell it out for me. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 1999, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 89
Wink

quote:
Originally posted by Pirate on 12-17-1999 04:32 PM
Thanks for helping out this old rookie with my question. I'm a little unsure of what you are asking regarding an exception to "this rule." You are going to have to spell it out for me. Thanks.

It is a double foul - happens simoultaneously.
Ref 1 calls Block - Ref 2 calls charge at exactly the same time.
Since it is a double foul, now the Player control foul becomes merely a push by the offense, and a block by the defense.
Basket counts, ball did not become dead, and possesion goes to the arrow.
It is in the case book, but beware, if you call it, you will have to explain it to both the coaches and your partner or partners.
That is where your life gets in danger.
99.9999% of the time,for good game management and rightly so, one official will give up his call.
Good Luck. If you can not find in the case book (Double Fouls) let me know.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 1999, 02:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 120
Post

Pirate,

There used to be another exception and that was if an offensive player swung his elbows during a shot, the ball became immediately dead. But that was changed a few years ago (3-5)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1