![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Game situation:
VGB tournament semi-final, white up 4 when black scores. White has ball on endline for in bounds play and calls time out. Play resumes with white's attempt to inbound and ball is deflected oob by black. Here's where things go wrong. Officials get ball back to white for inbounds play and white player runs endline with no call. White is fouled after inbounding ball with just seconds left and makes 1 of 2. Black coach is screaming up storm says "TRAVELING" should of been called. White wins by 3. Newspaper article leads with "BLOWN CALL SWINGS IN FAVOR OF CARDINALS". Imagine that, it couldn't have been black's missing "n" number of free throws or shots during course of game! Officials tell black coach "sorry" but of course nothing can be done.
__________________
Steve M. |
|
|||
![]()
If the deflection back OOB by black was due to a kick and the subsequent inbound spot was still on the endline, then the officials were correct in letting white run the endline. This is a new rule change.
The coach yelling "traveling" shows his lack of knowledge of the rules, because if it was a spot throw-in and the inbounder moved off the spot, it's a throw-in violation, not traveling. You should write the paper and tell them that. Also tell them your favorite section of their newspaper is the corrections column. BTW - what's a VGB game? Varsity Girls and Boys? [Edited by Mark Padgett on Jan 9th, 2005 at 02:14 PM]
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
This topic has come up on another board. If you are interested. Here it is:
http://www.illinoishighschoolsports....c;f=3;t=003841 |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Bad url
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|