The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 08, 2005, 12:34am
Official Forum Member

Allow me to state that I'm a first year official, and am currently greener than your retired neighbor's lawn in the month of May. I'm a college student with an insatiable need for income, so I tried officiating basketball. So far, so good. My passion is football, but, like I said, I need the money.

Anyhow, my question is about substitutions during bonus fouls, and, in this particular incident, it is one and one free throw shots. I was told by a somewhat-veteran-official, that I cannot beckon substitutes, during one and one foul shots, prior to the first shot. I was told that I must wait until the first shot has been attempted. I was skeptical of this because if the first shot is missed then they obviously are now required to wait for the second dead ball. So, can you beckon substitutes prior to the first foul shot for one and one fouls?

I worked a junior high game tonight, and I implemented the previously stated and totally borrowed knowledge. The home team tried to enter their substitutes prior to the first one and one foul shot, and I declined their entry. The first shot was made, and then I proceeded to beckon the substitutes. The entire gym -- fans, coaches, even the scorer's table -- objected with vehement fervor. It was somewhat comical. The volatility and overtly animated disgust with my decision convinced me that I was, perhaps, entirely wrong. I stuck to my guns, though, with a statue-like belligerence -- albeit thoroughly ignorant guns.

If you can answer this question, please inform me of the rule in which I should reference. I work for the chapter that resides in San Angelo, Texas. Thanks in advance.
Old Sat Jan 08, 2005, 01:00am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007