The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 02:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
Red face

Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
To further clarify, the violation in JRut's situation would be for going out of bounds - it's not a throw-in violation.
Actually, I believe it could be either kind of violation depending on where A2 catches the ball.

If the ball has not crossed the plane into the court when A2 catches the ball, it is a throw-in violation as soon as A2 touches the ball for not throwning the ball into the court.

If the ball has crossed the plane when A2 catches the ball, then we have a legal throw-in. If A2 then lands out of bounds and is still holding the ball, we have an out of bounds violation.
Sorry Lotto, you're wrong. Since it is legal to pass the ball to an out of bounds player, the thrower is not required to pass the ball directly onto the court. This is not a throw-in violation in any way. Just as Dexter put it. It only matters because it determines where the inbound for team B will be. This situation would never occur on an AP throw-in.
__________________
"referee the defense"
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1