The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2001, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
The ball was not dead to end the third quarter. We still had a 1 and 1 to shoot. The "T" occurred before the 1 and 1 was administered and therefore is still part of the third quarter. 6-1-3b applies not 6-1-4. 6-1-3b states that "each quarter or extra period begins when the ball first becomes live. It ends when the signal sounds indicating that time has expired except that if a foul occurs after time expires but while the ball is inflight during a try or tap for field goal. The quarter or extra period ends when th efree throws and all other related activity has been completed. NO PENALTY OR PART OF A PENALTY CARRIES OVER FROM ONE QUARTER OR EXTRA PERIOD TO THE NEXT." In this situation, the free throws as a result of the foul were not completed. The technical foul happened in that time period and was still part of the third quarter. The fourth quarter should start with whoever has the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1