The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2005, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Redhouse
BJV game. Table sounds horn and beckons me to the table. They tell me that 32 for the home team was not in the book. 32 was in the game and had already been replaced when they notified me of this. I told the table that since it was not caught until after he had become a player then he could not be penalized unless he came into the game again and we are notified at the time he enters the game. Correct me if I am wrong on that part.
When it's discovered that the player is not listed, the technical foul is assessed when he is entered into the scorebook. It's makes no difference whether he has entered the game and then left. Many people say that it can't be assessed after he leaves the game but I have never seen any documentation from the NFHS on this. If someone has it, please post it and I'll gladly retract my disagreement.

The only time a T is not assessed is if the scorer makes the change but does not notify the officials until later. In that case, there is no penalty.

It's is a team technical and counts toward the bonus only. If another player is discovered to not be in the book, there is no penalty as only one such T can be called in a game against a team.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1