![]() |
This has come up several times. On a play under the basket near a sideline whatever. "A" player who is in the game steps out of bounds with both feet, "B" player (of the opposite team) trying to save the ball throws it off of "A" player who is standing out of bounds. Whose ball is it? The argument is that since "A" player who has both feet out is out of the play, it can't be out on him. If this were the case what would prevent the defense from stepping out of bounds on every saved ball attempt and touching the ball while being out of bounds??
Thanks |
Out of bounds on A. Give the ball to B.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
On an inbounds play, thrower A1 passes the ball, B1 deflects the pass and it hits A1 who is still standing OOB. Who gets the ball? |
Who does get the balll?
?????
|
Re: Who does get the balll?
Quote:
B gets the ball. |
Re: Re: Who does get the balll?
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Who does get the balll?
Quote:
Now officiating.... |
|
Quote:
I think the T is generally called only for going out of bounds w/o authorization and gaining an advantage. No advantage to be gained here. I suppose a T would be correct strictly "by the book". Hartsy |
Unfortunately this sometimes hurts a team. Had a kid (A1) last night in a Boys V game hustle more than any other I have seen all year. He saves a ball from going OOBs and falls to the ground. The ball rebounds off B1 and falls right in the kids lap on the ground. It pained my P to call the violation and gave the ball, correctly, to B.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Perhaps the fed should define "authorized reason" here. |
quote:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Originally posted by joseph2493 quote: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Originally posted by Jimgolf quote: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Originally posted by easygoer "A" player who is in the game steps out of bounds with both feet, "B" player (of the opposite team) trying to save the ball throws it off of "A" player who is standing out of bounds. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Why is this not a technical foul on A? -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- It is! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- It is what? Your opportunity to prove you don't understand the spirit of the rule? I don't think you should be so quick to put anyone down when you don't know the "spirit" in which the player went out of bounds.... As Snaqwells said "We don't know why he went out of bounds"... it could have been because of his momentum in which case he would have been well within his rights or for some reason he may have jumped out of bounds perhaps to avert a 3 second call . I still think it should be a violation and not a T but that is for another discussion . |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm. |