The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2004, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
I don't follow the Fed's rationale for the difference in the penalty administration for these two plays:

1. A1 shoots and is fouled by B1, while the ball is on the ring A2 commits BI.
Penalty: No goal, A1 shoots 2 FTs with the lane spaces occupied. 6.7.9

2. A1 shoots and is fouled by B1, while the ball is one the ring A2 commits a foul against B2 under the basket. Team B is not in the bonus. The try is unsuccessful.
Penalty: No goal, award A1 2FTs with the lane cleared and give the ball to Team B OOB on the endline. 6.7.4 (slightly modified)

Both a violation and a foul carry the penalty of awarding the ball OOB to the opponents 7-4-1+6, so why the difference in how the game continues here?

Specifically, why not shoot with the lane cleared in #1 as well? It seems that we are failing to fully punish the violation by allowing Team A an attempt to rebound a miss on the final attempt.
What if the violation by A2 in play #1 had been for excessively swinging elbows? Does anyone feel that should change the ensuing FT administration?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1