![]() |
I thought I read somewhere that if B1 fouls A2 before A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, it's an automatic intentional foul reguardless of the severity of the contact.
Did I make that up? p.s. Just saw a "blarge" call in the UCLA-Mich State game. Lead SOLD the block. Center calmly showed block, then conceded. |
Quote:
Irapalmer3: Oh boy are you going back into ancient history. You are talking about the mid-1970's. Give me until tomorrow morning and I will go up in the attic and research the rule. I should know it because I had an intentional foul right out of the casebook the first year it was in effect. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Peace |
iraplamer3,
Federation rules 9:2 penalty 3 & 4 p. 56 2004 book spells is out pretty clearly. |
Quote:
refnev: That is not the play about which irapalmer3 asking. Read my earlier post. The situation that he is describing was the second foul in a false double foul. MTD, Sr. |
Oops. My bad. Right answer. Wrong question.
|
Case Book play 4.19.3 Situation C
"Team A leads by three points with four seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Team A is to throw-in from a spot out of bounds on the end line. Players begin jockeying for positions just after the official has handed the ball to A1. B1, while trying to deny a pass from A1 to A2: (a) grabs A2's arm, or (b) pushes A2 from behind. RULING: In (a) and (b), it is an intentional personal foul designed to keep the clock from starting or to neutralize an opponent's obvious advantageout position." Okay, so we know what we're supposed to call. Is this another one of those rulings that gets re-interpreted at game time? |
Quote:
irapalmer3: Those are examples of intentional personal fouls regardless of the time remaining. But in the midd-70's there was a rule that if what would normally be a common foul is committed under a certain defined situation, the personal foul was to be considered an intentional personal foul. Just give me a chance to get up into the attic this morning and I will try to have an answer for you this afternoon. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Whack - T on B1.....coach B went nuts of course. Had B1 waited until after I handed A1 the ball it definitely would have been an X. |
I had a similar situation last year. Team A throwin following a time out. Prior to the ball being at the disposal of A1 for the throw-in. B1 fouls A2 (trying to guard the inbpunds play that hadn't started).
T on B1. Dead ball foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
By rule it is impossible to have a "blarge." Either the defender had a legal guarding position or he did not. A defender cannot have a legal guarding position and be guilty of a block. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I am sitting in the West Toledo Library as the 6th grader picks out books to take with us for our trip to Orlando. I do not have any rules books with me but the key to iraplamer3's question is the foul must be assessed as "an automatic intentional foul reguardless of the severity of the contact." As I stated in my original post in this thread the rule was amended in the mid-70's and it has since gone by the wayside because of other rules changes.
I am trying to remember the exact scenario but I remember having the play occur in one of my games the first year it was in the rules. Back in the 70's there were certain situations during a throw-in by Team A, that if Team B committed a common foul and Team A was not in the bonus, Team B's common foul would cause the ball to be put back into play with a jump ball, thereby causing Team A to lose the right to complete its throw-in because of Team B's foul. Therefore, the common foul by Team B was considered an intentional personal foul by definition. I know that I promised to go up into the attic and research the play but I was supposed to be doing more important things today than playing on the internet. I promise to get the exact rule out for this thread as soon as possible after the First of the Year. Happy Holidays! MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm. |