The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   staying out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17156-staying-out-bounds.html)

Junker Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:00pm

I'm pretty happy with the way I handled this, but just looking for your thoughts. Last night we had 2 pretty good JV 4A (big schools in Iowa) teams. A1 drove the baseline and made a pass (I'm lead). After releasing the pass he lands OOB. A2 catches the ball and takes a shot. A1 waited until the shot came off and then re-entered the playing court. He was not a factor in the play on the rebound. My partner called a foul and as he reported I grabbed A1 and explained that he needed to get back inbounds right away rather than staying OOB because I could have called a T on him. A1 understood and thanked me. Did I handle that correctly? Just looking for your thoughts.

ChuckElias Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:05pm

I'd say you handled it fine. The other night, I had a kind inbound the ball and then stay OOB for a couple seconds. Next throw-in, I told him, "Once you pass it, get inbounds. You can't stay OOB, ok?" He said, "Oh, ok" and did it. I'm sure he just didn't know. No need for the T in those cases, IMO.

zebraman Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Junker
I'm pretty happy with the way I handled this, but just looking for your thoughts. Last night we had 2 pretty good JV 4A (big schools in Iowa) teams. A1 drove the baseline and made a pass (I'm lead). After releasing the pass he lands OOB. A2 catches the ball and takes a shot. A1 waited until the shot came off and then re-entered the playing court. He was not a factor in the play on the rebound. My partner called a foul and as he reported I grabbed A1 and explained that he needed to get back inbounds right away rather than staying OOB because I could have called a T on him. A1 understood and thanked me. Did I handle that correctly? Just looking for your thoughts.
Perfect.

Z

davidw Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Junker
[B]...I grabbed A1 and explained that he needed to .../B]
I hope you meant your grab was figurative, placing hands on players during a contest is rarely/never a good idea.

tjones1 Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:27pm

Yes you did fine. I've actually seen this called once this year in a really close game.

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:30pm

Having called one of these already this year, I'd have to say that any way you can find to handle it that doesn't involve calling the T, is a win for everybody. Obviously if it's a blatant attempt to violate the rule you've got to call it. But short of that, stick with rule 11-1.

Adam Tue Dec 21, 2004 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Junker
I'm pretty happy with the way I handled this, but just looking for your thoughts. Last night we had 2 pretty good JV 4A (big schools in Iowa) teams. A1 drove the baseline and made a pass (I'm lead). After releasing the pass he lands OOB. A2 catches the ball and takes a shot. A1 waited until the shot came off and then re-entered the playing court. He was not a factor in the play on the rebound. My partner called a foul and as he reported I grabbed A1 and explained that he needed to get back inbounds right away rather than staying OOB because I could have called a T on him. A1 understood and thanked me. Did I handle that correctly? Just looking for your thoughts.
I wish you would've whacked him, Junker. A "T" would have made that game a lot better.

BTW, I think this was the first G/V double header I've had this year where the girls' coaches barked (a lot) more than the boys' coaches (none).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1