The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 09:53am
LHF LHF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Question

I have read various “rules” on this and am more confused than ever. From NCAA, to our state high school rules, to pee wee……I can not find one common “rule” for holding your ground on a throw in.

Can someone please answer the following for NCAA games:

1. On a throw in when you must stay in your designated spot, are you allowed to move at all (pivot foot, dance around?) If so, where in the rule book does it ACTUALLY state this?

2. If a player does move and a violation is called, then what is the call? I understand traveling is not the correct call?



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
There are no pivot foot restrictions during a throw-in. Therefore, it's not possible to travel. The player can even dribble if he/she would like.

If the thrower fails to have at least 1 foot over the 3' spot, then it's a spot violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 10:17am
LHF LHF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Just found it under "definitions" of designated spot. However, judging that "3 foot section" by someone who is 6'7 can be definitely subjective. All it would take is one step either way and they would be out of that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Not true. The spot is 3' feet wide. Taking one step will always leave the other foot that hasn't moved over the spot.

Don't be so quick to make this call. If he leaves the original spot, you'll know it. Don't nitpick it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Not true. The spot is 3' feet wide. Taking one step will always leave the other foot that hasn't moved over the spot.

Don't be so quick to make this call. If he leaves the original spot, you'll know it. Don't nitpick it.
And he can back away from the line as far as he's able within the physical restrictions of the facility - 3' limit applies to width only, not depth.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2004, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 248
The only requirement is that the inbounder have one foot within that three foot space. The 6' 7" player can cover a lot of ground with one step...
__________________
"Golf is deceptively simple and endlessly complicated.
It satisfies the soul and frustrates the intellect.
It is at the same time rewarding and maddening-it is without
a doubt the greatest game mankind has ever invented."
Arnold Palmer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1