The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Designated spot, 3 foot section, etc...... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17146-designated-spot-3-foot-section-etc.html)

LHF Tue Dec 21, 2004 09:53am

I have read various “rules” on this and am more confused than ever. From NCAA, to our state high school rules, to pee wee……I can not find one common “rule” for holding your ground on a throw in.

Can someone please answer the following for NCAA games:

1. On a throw in when you must stay in your designated spot, are you allowed to move at all (pivot foot, dance around?) If so, where in the rule book does it ACTUALLY state this?

2. If a player does move and a violation is called, then what is the call? I understand traveling is not the correct call?




BktBallRef Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:15am

There are no pivot foot restrictions during a throw-in. Therefore, it's not possible to travel. The player can even dribble if he/she would like.

If the thrower fails to have at least 1 foot over the 3' spot, then it's a spot violation.

LHF Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:17am

Just found it under "definitions" of designated spot. However, judging that "3 foot section" by someone who is 6'7 can be definitely subjective. All it would take is one step either way and they would be out of that spot.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:23am

Not true. The spot is 3' feet wide. Taking one step will always leave the other foot that hasn't moved over the spot.

Don't be so quick to make this call. If he leaves the original spot, you'll know it. Don't nitpick it.

TimTaylor Tue Dec 21, 2004 11:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Not true. The spot is 3' feet wide. Taking one step will always leave the other foot that hasn't moved over the spot.

Don't be so quick to make this call. If he leaves the original spot, you'll know it. Don't nitpick it.

And he can back away from the line as far as he's able within the physical restrictions of the facility - 3' limit applies to width only, not depth.

whistleone Tue Dec 21, 2004 11:20am

The only requirement is that the inbounder have one foot within that three foot space. The 6' 7" player can cover a lot of ground with one step...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1